First Week Of Crossfit Workouts

22 Mar

As I mentioned in my Get Swole update, my brother and I decided to try some Crossfit workouts for the next 4 weeks. I don’t belong to a Crossfit gym, so I looked for workouts that can easily be done in a typical gym.

I like the set-up of Crossfit workouts in that you start with strength moves, and improving on big lifts, and then move into conditioning (more like cardio).

I wanted to share our first week of workouts and see what you think! It was definitely a change from our normal routine but I really liked it.

Monday

crossfit wod

Tuesday

amrap crossfit wod

Wednesday

Off

Thursday

4 sets of 10

Barbell deadlift

T-Bar row

Conditioning:

50-40-30-20-10 (repeated 2x because we don’t know how to do double unders)

Jump rope

Crunches

Friday:

Ran 2 miles

Saturday (today):

Not sure yet!

We are obviously staying away from Olympic lifts like squat and clean, etc. because I’m not certified in Olympic weight lifting, so I can’t teach my brother and myself the proper form. Although I’m sure I can figure it out based on other exercises I have taught to clients, better safe than sorry!

I’m going to create my own “strength” portions based on what I want to get better at, but I look through the internet to find good conditioning WODS. So if you know any good ones, please leave a comment!

Have you tried Crossfit? What do you think of it?

********************************

Follow Reach Your Peak:

6 Responses to “First Week Of Crossfit Workouts”

  1. Kristin March 22, 2014 at 11:05 am #

    Yes, I’ve tried a few crossfit exercises and really do like it. I love using my body weight to train!! It’s a whole different feeling!!

    • reach-yourpeak March 28, 2014 at 12:17 pm #

      hey Kristin! I’m going through comments to find people who regularly commented bc I wanted to let you know that I transferred to self-hosting, so if you follow me in your wordpress reader, I won’t show up anymore 😦 You can either follow me on bloglovin’ or please subscribe to my newsletter for email updates on new posts and workouts 🙂 Thank you!
      http://eepurl.com/Rltdn

      • Kristin March 28, 2014 at 12:45 pm #

        I subscribed via email!!! Thanks so much!!!

      • reach-yourpeak March 28, 2014 at 12:47 pm #

        yay thank you! 🙂

      • Kristin March 28, 2014 at 12:51 pm #

        🙂

  2. Carla Bruns (@RealInto) March 22, 2014 at 11:33 am #

    I haven’t tried an actual Crossfit class but I’ve done crossfit type exercises in the past. I generally don’t like high impact exercises but I do like the results! Sounds like you’re enjoying the classes.

Leave a Reply

