Yes, I’m a Personal Trainer, But I Admit That…

11 Mar

I got the inspiration for this post from personal trainer Taylor, who writes at LiftingRevolution.com. She has done a series titled, “10 Jaw Dropping Confessions Of A Personal Trainer” and I loved reading her confessions…mostly because I can totally relate!

Sometimes I feel like, as a trainer, I need to live a certain lifestyle when it comes to healthy and fitness…but I definitely have some confessions of my own 😉

Here we go:

I admit that… I have a crazy sweet tooth and “splurge” on a sweet treat 2-3 times per week. Usually something small, like a small cookie, or piece of dark chocolate. It has definitely gotten the best of me though, and there have been times when I just can’t stay away from the Famous Amos cookies in the vending machine at work!

I admit that… I have a love/hate relationship with cardio. Sure, I love to run…but some days I just don’t want to. Though now that it’s warmer I feel like I will run more, but this past winter I had absolutely no desire to run, and I’m totally okay with that. Though my brother, dad and I did get in a good 2 miler yesterday!

I just hate other forms of cardio like the elliptical, biking, stepper, etc. I just get so bored! I’m all about the weightlifting.

I admit that… I will never be a morning person. I have tried SO many times to wake up and work out in the AM but it’s always been a fail. I have slept in my workout clothes, but that has not made me any less apt to hit snooze. I just have way more energy in the evening. Why force something, right?

I admit that… I’m really not a huge fan of vegetables. I’m pretty sure I will never crave them, and I eat them because, well, I have to. I guess there are some I like over others but I can’t think of any that I would say I LOVE. Just sat here staring at the screen trying to think if there’s one I love…nope, I got nothing. Maybe tomatoes?

I admit that… I view the gym as a playground. I love going to the gym to lift. I rarely don’t feel like going due to energy or anything…it’s just something I look forward to every day because I can’t wait to see what my numbers for the day will be. I could probably spend a decent amount of time there, because I like trying new exercises/machines, and challenging myself on different things. I also love trying new classes! It is kind of like a playground for adults right? Or am I just weird…

Which of these things can you relate to?

Do you like veggies? Give me a vegetable suggestion please!

********************************

Follow Reach Your Peak:

5 Responses to “Yes, I’m a Personal Trainer, But I Admit That…”

  1. Ice_Badger March 11, 2014 at 8:09 am #

    I can relate to most of those!!

    I am sure the gym is just a giant playground for adults…except for the cardio bit, I hate all cardio machines…I like to run, but only outside 🙂 I also love lifting…although i am not doing as much at the moment as I am training for a 10k

    Mornings are so hard…I can only manage them if I am meeting someone and have no choice!! and veg, yeah, they are ok…and good and everything but the only ones I love are bell peppers…and I think they are technically a fruit…

    ok 🙂 thank you for writing this…it make me feel like I am not completely crazy training to be a personal trainer!

    • reach-yourpeak March 11, 2014 at 9:52 am #

      hahah glad you can relate! I also hate cardio machines. Idk how people go to the gym and spend an hour or more on an elliptical..I get bored after 5 min!

      • Ice_Badger March 11, 2014 at 9:55 am #

        I really don’t know either!!

        If I am going to do an hour of cardio I will go for a run, other wise it is 5 mins of sprint intervals and on to something more interesting!

        and treadmills are the most terrifying of torture devices!! I am glad I live somewhere it is rarely impossible to run outside (if you don’t mind rain that is…)

  2. Katie @ My Post Grad Living March 11, 2014 at 9:31 am #

    Try roasted carrots sprinkled with salt and pepper and then scoop up some hummus!

    • reach-yourpeak March 11, 2014 at 9:52 am #

      Hmm that actually does sound good! I’m not a huge fan of carrots (raw) but I will have to try this!

Leave a Reply

