Save and Splurge: Fitness Items

11 Mar

Buying fitness related stuff can get addicting. I love shopping for new workout clothes, and when I see gadgets and other stuff for cheap at T.J. Maxx or Marshall’s, it’s hard to walk away!

I’m going to highlight some typical fitness items, with a “save” option and a “splurge” option. Some things are worth splurging on, while other things you could definitely get away with buying at a Five Below – but it really all depends on you, and how often you use certain things.

Yoga Mats

yogamatsThis all depends on how often you do yoga. I think if you do it once a week or so, like I do, then it’s okay to save on a yoga mat. The C9 Basic Yoga Mat is from Target, which also has other brands like Gaiam. I have used the lululemon yoga mat at their community classes and love it. My hands don’t slip at all. However, I don’t do yoga enough to justify buying it…but maybe one day!

Dumbbells

dumbbellsGetting adjustable dumbbells has been on my to-d0 list for a while. Once I have a home gym, I will definitely get a pair of these Reebok adjustable dumbbells (also available at Target). But, really, all you need for an at-home workout are a pair of dumbbells ranging from 5-10 lbs. The one above can be found at Five Below. If you don’t have one of those near you, check out Target or T.J. Maxx too!

Watches

watchesYou can look up both of these watches on their brand page, but I found that you can save a good chunk of change on Amazon*. The Polar GPS watch comes with a heart-rate monitor if you like to see how many calories you burn. I personally have a Garmin, but know a lot of people who own Polars and love them. I like that it’s a GPS and HRM in one. But if you don’t need all that, this Timex Women’s watch will do the trick. I like that it’s light and small, so it could be used in everyday life too.

There are a lot of other products I could include, but I’ll save that for Part 2! One thing I will say you should always splurge on is a good pair of sneakers.

Which of these products would you splurge on?

What fitness item do you have no qualms about spending a little extra on? For me it’s running shoes and shorts!

*Disclaimer: I’m an Amazon affiliate, so if you buy through the links provided, I may get a small % kickback, which helps with my blog hosting costs 🙂

********************************

Follow Reach Your Peak:

7 Responses to “Save and Splurge: Fitness Items”

  1. Leigh Anne @ livefitandrun March 11, 2014 at 1:19 pm #

    I splurged on my Garmin! After a few years of running, I felt the cost was justifiable. And I am so glad I did, I love it! I save on my yoga mat… Although I am a lululemon addict, I don’t do enough yoga to justify the cost. I’d rather buy a new lulu running skirt!

    • reach-yourpeak March 11, 2014 at 2:53 pm #

      I splurged on a garmin this summer as well! Found it on craigslist for a pretty good deal and it was in great condition. I love running with it 🙂
      And yes I am a lulu addict too. I love their wunderunders and their spandex shorts!

  2. piratebobcat March 11, 2014 at 1:43 pm #

    Same here, I feel shoes are important to splurge on because they can keep you injury free. I did however, just give up my paid gym membership for a free (much smaller) gym. I’m kind of regretting that save.

    • reach-yourpeak March 11, 2014 at 2:52 pm #

      a free gym?? I wish I h ad one of those. I’m currently in the dilemma of should I renew my membership or not, because it’s $75 a month ugh…but I DO use it daily…idk!

  3. Sarah @ Run Shop Eat Repeat March 11, 2014 at 5:05 pm #

    I love Marshall’s for workout stuff too, it’s a hidden gem! I’d splurge on a heart rate monitor/watch… I’ve heard from some people who’ve bought cheaper versions (not sure what brands) and they’ve found them to be inaccurate.

    • reach-yourpeak March 11, 2014 at 7:35 pm #

      Yeah my next buy will be a heart rate monitor to go with my garmin. I compared it to RunKeeper (the app) and runkeeper has been almost 1 mile off sometimes!

  4. Laura March 11, 2014 at 5:58 pm #

    I really likes this post! I’ve been wanting a kettlebell for a while now and I’m going to check out Marshall’s today to “save!”

Leave a Reply

