Step Interval Class Review

6 Mar

So I decided to try a new class yesterday at my gym (YMCA). I’ve been trying classes with my dad, but he couldn’t make it so I was kind of nervous to try it on my own. I honestly didn’t even know what step interval was, but figured it was a lot of step-ups and lunges on a box…I was kinda right…

The instructor helped me set up with my box, light and heavy weights, and a band for stretching.

Class started with a warm-up which I was fine with, but soon the choreography started…

It wasn’t that bad. It did consist of stepping up and down and lunges, but also hopping over/across the box, step-up with knee tucks, step-up with leg curl, and other moves. The one move I got confused with was “around-the-world lunges.” It involved crossing your feet over then onto the other side of the box? I can’t even explain it. I just watched the others and couldn’t help but laugh to myself because I felt so lost and uncoordinated.

When you think of step aerobics, you might think of something from the 70s or 80s, but this was definitely a great workout. I was sweating a ton and my heart rate was up. Perhaps it was because I was working EXTRA hard to get the moves right and not trip over myself 😉

In between the stepping, we took some breaks where we picked up the weights to do squats with bicep curls, plie squats with shoulder raises, balancing moves with tricep exercises and more. It was a great total body workout. The only thing I will do next time is make my step 1 step higher. I think I could have handled that, but didn’t want to try on my first class.

At the end of the class we did some abs and stretching.

I think I will be back for this class! If you’re interested and live in the NJ area, this class is held at the Somerset Hills YMCA.

After the class, I wanted to get in a tiny bit of running, so I did some hill sprints. I did:

10.0 incline, 9.0 speed -> 30 seconds

1 min. walk

9.0 incline, 8.0 speed -> 30 seconds

1 min. walk

8.0 incline, 7.0 speed -> 30 seconds

1 min. walk

5.0 incline, 7.3 speed (5K pace for me) -> 1 min.

2 min. walk

9.0 incline, 9.0 speed -> 30 seconds

Cooldown walk.

Overall, a great workout day! Heading back to the gym later for chest and back day.

I’m going to try to film a workout this weekend – which would you prefer? “Stair Workout (all you need is your stairs)” or “Total Body HIIT”?

Let me know if in the comments!

********************************

Follow Reach Your Peak:

One Response to “Step Interval Class Review”

  1. piratebobcat March 6, 2014 at 8:44 pm #

    Sounds like you got a great workout in. They had a similar one at my gym, and it kicked my butt!

Leave a Reply

