Being Creative

21 Feb

How often do you set aside time just to explore your ideas and creative thoughts?

That was the topic of one of the sessions I went to last night, called “Exploring Deep Creativity.” This was part of Social Media Week NYC.

I really, really enjoyed this session, and thought a lot of what we covered would be relevant to many of you, especially those who have blogs.

One of the quotes in the presentation last night.

Creativity. What does it even mean? This session was a panel, and each member discussed how they define creativity, and their tips for harnessing those ideas you have.

One of the main things we touched upon was having set times for creative sessions. If you’re a blogger, do you set aside time to brainstorm ideas? Or do you let them come to you? There is no right answer here.

The panelists talked about how each person has their own “sacred space” and you should now what yours is. Do your ideas come to you while working out or running? Or do you work better sitting down at your computer with headphones in? Personally, I like being in a quiet room when I’m reading and writing. And a lot of my ideas come late at night, or even when I wake up from a dream 🙂 Though I still haven’t gotten a notebook to keep at my bedside table to write all those ideas down…

Another point we talked about was taking time to disconnect. Seriously, who takes time to be disconnected from the internet and their phone in order to have a brainstorm session? I honestly can’t remember the last time I did that. They gave 2 ways you can do this:

  1. Have a creative session alone or with a friend, where you write down ALL of your thoughts and ideas on a blank piece of paper. It doesn’t matter if it makes sense or not. Don’t worry about the details, just write it down. No distractions. They also suggested doing this with a glass of wine 😉
  2. Go to a coffee shop with no WiFi and just have a work sprint session. 25 minutes of a “work sprint” with a 5 minute break. Use this time to write or work on developing your ideas and action plans. I definitely need to work on doing this more often.

Lastly, one of the things discussed was work/life balance. Who knows people who say things like, “I worked 12 hours today!” or “I worked 80 hours this week,” but mean it kind of in a bragging way? Since when does amount worked validate quality of work being done? That was a key takeaway of this session as well: It’s not about how many hours you work, it’s about the final product. You would work 50 hours and still have a mediocre result.

So this was kind of a brain dump of things I learned yesterday, but I knew it may help other bloggers and others who like to have a creative process. I can’t wait to implement some of these, and have already scheduled a WiFi-less coffee date with my sister for this weekend.

Do you have a creative process? How does it work?

What is your “sacred space” for ideas?

********************************

Follow Reach Your Peak:

7 Responses to “Being Creative”

  1. Kristin February 21, 2014 at 3:46 pm #

    I LOVE this post!! I’m a children’s book author so there is nothing creative or talk about creativity that I don’t love! My “sacred space” is definitely at home in front of my laptop! I close my eyes, center myself, and when I open them, usually get a rush of ideas.

    • reach-yourpeak February 22, 2014 at 7:28 pm #

      I agree! I get a ton of ideas when I’m sitting on my laptop. I usually have 374827304 tabs open too haha

      • Kristin February 22, 2014 at 7:32 pm #

        Haha- oh yes!

  2. Stephanie February 22, 2014 at 10:35 am #

    Thanks so much for sharing! Really enjoyed following your tweets during the session! Ideas come to me at all times, but usually when I’m reading, watching, or listening to something (you know, not always the best time to stop and make a note of it). What I often try to do is jump into my blog dashboard and put in a title and a few lines of what my thoughts are. I’ve found that’s the best way of capturing the idea that I can then go back to and work on.

    • reach-yourpeak February 22, 2014 at 7:28 pm #

      That’s a good idea! Sometimes I’m out without my notebook and think of something and forget to write it down – but I can go in the WP app and start writing a post and save it as a draft. Thanks for the tip!

  3. Helen February 24, 2014 at 9:55 am #

    Hi Patty!

    Thanks for coming out to the panel and writing this great recap with tips and actions items! Glad to hear that you really enjoyed the session! How did the WiFi-less coffee date go this past weekend?

    Just wanted to let you know that I also added this post to the “Exploring Creativity” board where there are a lot of other resources and nuggets of inspiration on the topic too: http://www.pinterest.com/helentodd/exploring-creativity/

    Have a wonderful, productive and creative week!

    -Helen 🙂

  4. helenctodd February 24, 2014 at 9:56 am #

    Hi Patty!

    Thanks for coming out to the panel and writing this great recap with tips and actions items! Glad to hear that you really enjoyed the session! How did the WiFi-less coffee date go this past weekend?

    Just wanted to let you know that I also added this post to the “Exploring Creativity” board where there are a lot of other resources and nuggets of inspiration on the topic too: http://www.pinterest.com/helentodd/exploring-creativity/

    Have a wonderful, productive and creative week!

    -Helen 🙂

Leave a Reply

