Top Glute Exercises

17 Feb

Ever look at a word for too long and then it just looks weird? That’s how I feel about “Glute” right now 😛

I posted a new video to my YouTube channel today! How To: Weighted Hip Raises.

Hip raises/hip thrusts are a great way to target your glutes and hamstrings. You can do them bodyweight or with weights. I usually do bodyweight hip raises as a warm-up before lifting. I do 10 hip raises, then 5 single leg hip raises on each side.

If you want more of a challenge, that’s where this video comes in. Adding weight will help you feel the burn, and tone your butt and hamstrings 😉

Here are a few of my other favorite butt toning exercises – you will definitely feel it the day after doing these!

Dumbbell Deadlift

Walking Lunges

Kettlebell Squats

Leg Press

If I were to combine these into a workout, I’d suggest the following:

3-4 sets, 12-15 reps of each exercise

Kettlebell squat

Dumbbell deadlift

Leg press

Weighted hip-raise

Walking lunges

Let me know if you try out the hip raises or this lower body workout!

Which of these do you regularly incorporate into your routine?

Which do you want to try?

********************************

Follow Reach Your Peak:

4 Responses to “Top Glute Exercises”

  1. Stephanie February 17, 2014 at 6:05 pm #

    I regularly incorporate all of these! I do hip raises (bridges) switching legs and also single leg reps. I like doing deadlifts single legged as well. Question for you: I’ve recently seen more deadlifts with people bending their knees. Is that the correct way?

    • reach-yourpeak February 17, 2014 at 7:43 pm #

      I like to slightly bend my knees because straight legged just puts a weird pressure on my knees. People to straight legged to focus more on hamstrings. Do a slight bend if you want to hit hamstrings, lower back and glutes.

  2. Janelle @ Run With No Regrets February 17, 2014 at 7:04 pm #

    Nice video! I just had an assessment with a running coach today and I’ve gotta focus on strengthening the glutes. I’ve got to do bridges, dumbbell deadlifts, and countless other exercises!

    • reach-yourpeak February 17, 2014 at 7:43 pm #

      Yes, they are so important for healthy running! It’s tough finding time to run AND strength train but it’s definitely a must. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

