Motivational Monday!

17 Feb

Another Monday…another week. I’m super excited for this week because it’s NYC Social Media Week! I’ll be going to 2 events on Thursday and possibly one on Tuesday. I’ll be writing more about this in a post later today.

Here’s today’s inspiration:

Have you ever been afraid to try something? Because you were afraid you wouldn’t be able to do it? That’s how I felt back in 2010 when I started thinking about trying a half-marathon. My mom and I were so scared, and did not think we’d be able to do it. Then we did…and then we committed to a full marathon-and were petrified! But now, 2 marathons later, we know it’s something we can conquer, and every year we work to improve our times and continue to run 🙂

Had we not decided to try a half-marathon, we would never know what we were capable of. Sometimes you may think, “I could never do that.” Stop and think, is that true? Or do you just think you couldn’t? I say, I could never do a triathlon, but now I’m considering trying a mini one and seeing where that goes.

Going along with this, I was watching the Olympics and heard the story of an athlete who wanted to go to the Olympics, so she started skiing 4 years ago. Never skied before! And is now in the Olympics. You really never know what you can accomplish.

Is there something you have said you would never do, but then ended up doing?

Is there something you think you can’t accomplish ever? Why?

********************************

Follow Reach Your Peak:

7 Responses to “Motivational Monday!”

  1. Kristin February 17, 2014 at 8:21 am #

    I’m a runner and swimmer, but hope one day to be a cyclist! 😉 I love cycling classes but have fear of taking it out to the road. 😦

    • reach-yourpeak February 17, 2014 at 9:38 am #

      I’d love to bike on the road too! I just don’t have a bike lol they’re so expensive!

      • Kristin February 17, 2014 at 9:50 am #

        My husband is a cyclist and really wants me to go out on the road with him, but I fear drivers and honestly getting hurt. 😦 Maybe one day!

      • reach-yourpeak February 17, 2014 at 9:52 am #

        I fear drivers out running too-some have gotten way too close and I’ve had to jump to the side of the road. Idk where people’s eyes are. I haven’t ridden an actual bike in years, so who knows if I even know how to anymore! lol

      • Kristin February 17, 2014 at 9:59 am #

        Haha, yeah I feel the same way (not knowing if I could ride)!
        I’ve heard about several cyclist getting hurt, so it’s just one of those things…and I know, I’ve almost been struck by cars, too and that’s scary enough… 😦

  2. Ice_Badger February 17, 2014 at 1:33 pm #

    I am always saying I will never do something then promptly doing it…
    Teaching, getting married, taking up running, wearing 3/4 lengthens sleeves (I am oddly outspoken about random things) most recently signing up for a 10k when I said I wasn’t interested in running that far!

  3. kristenk February 17, 2014 at 11:24 pm #

    I never thought I could run double digit runs, and now here I am getting ready for my first half marathon THIS WEEKEND! So crazy! This was such a great post and I love that Edison quote!

Leave a Reply

