DIY Valentine’s Day Gifts

12 Feb

It’s that time of year again…Valentine’s Day.

You either love it or you hate it. I used to love it, now I’m kind of neutral. Probably because I have been with Dan for over 5 years!

Usually, for V-Day or any other occasion, I love making DIY gifts. I feel like it really shows thought and emotion.

I have made Dan several DIY gifts in the past, so I figured I’d share some ideas with all of you, in case you need a last minute Valentine’s Day gift!

diy valentines day gifts

PS – Excuse the picture quality. I texted Dan last night to send me pics of these (since they’re hanging in his room), and this is what I got 😛

Picture Frame Calendar

picture frame calendar

Buy a picture frame and some whiteboard markers. Then decorate with your significant other’s favorite sports teams/activities/etc. The blue squares are from paint color samples taken from Wal-Mart! You know those samples you can take home? Yeah just grab those, measure a square, and cut out a bunch. Tape or paste all of these things on a piece of white paper, then put in the frame. The whiteboard marker is so that you can change the dates and months.

Ticket Stub Holder

ticket stub holder

Go to your local craft store and buy a shadow box. I’d suggest one bigger than the one I bought, because this one is almost full! This is great if you and your S/O go to a lot of games, shows, movies, etc. You will have to use a saw or something to cut a hole in the top. Thankfully, my dad is a contractor 😉 You can’t see it in this picture, but the shadow box had a place to put a photo, so there is a picture of both of us, and I wrote “Things We’ve Done.”

There was one more thing I wanted to include, but I forgot to take a picture! It may be too last minute to do this, but if you have seashells laying around from a vacation, you can super glue them to a picture frame, and then put a picture of you two in the frame. It’s a great way to remember the vacation you went on together.

Let me know if you decide to try either of these, or have made these in the past!

Do you like Valentine’s Day? How are you celebrating this year?

What’s your favorite DIY gift you have made? I love new ideas!

********************************

Follow Reach Your Peak:

31 Responses to “DIY Valentine’s Day Gifts”

  1. Randa February 12, 2014 at 3:34 pm #

    I love that calendar! Great job.

  2. dishofdailylife February 12, 2014 at 5:02 pm #

    I love your DIY projects!! My husband and I aren’t much for Valentine’s Day, but I have made calendars and photo books, and photo wallpaper…anything I can make with photos I love! I’d like to put together a shadowbox of his college running medals, but I have yet to do that. Visiting from #sitsblogging.

    • reach-yourpeak February 13, 2014 at 10:56 pm #

      Love the college medals idea. I also love photos-they have so much sentimental value and just take you back in time

  3. Ani February 12, 2014 at 5:21 pm #

    That ticket stub holder is so cute! I have all my movie tickets since middle school haha

  4. Kristin February 12, 2014 at 5:24 pm #

    Love this idea! I will have to try it! I love Valentine’s Day a lot because it’s a special day for my husband and I! We eat at our favorite restaurant and spend some nice quality time together! 🙂

  5. irishrunnerchick February 12, 2014 at 5:40 pm #

    I like the ticket stub holder. My boyfriend keeps the stubs from every concert and sports event (I am not so sentimental) and this would be perfect for him. Thanks!

  6. Jim February 12, 2014 at 7:33 pm #

    We’ll I’ve been married since ’97 so Valentines Day is pretty much non existent for me (sad I know) but these are great ideas ! Who knows, maybe a spark will ignite :). Thanks Patty !!

  7. Nicole Beard February 12, 2014 at 9:45 pm #

    I love the ticket stub holder! I’ve also seek a cork holder for wine lovers which is pretty cool. 🙂

    • reach-yourpeak February 13, 2014 at 10:54 pm #

      I think that might be my next DIY craft I will try to do 🙂

  8. Nicole P February 12, 2014 at 10:31 pm #

    We like Valentines! We love presents lol I wanted to go DIY but I did that for his birthday a few weeks ago and I am over it lol We are also going to the zoo 🙂

    • reach-yourpeak February 13, 2014 at 10:54 pm #

      My bf’s birthday was yesterday and V-day is tomorrow so I just do a combined gift or mini v-day gift lol. We’ve been wanting to go to the zoo forever-gotta do that once it gets warmer out!

  9. Nichole February 12, 2014 at 11:10 pm #

    I love the ticket holder!

  10. willrunforpizza February 12, 2014 at 11:11 pm #

    I LOVE that shadowbox idea!! All of our “mementos” are in a shoe box! Haha…Love your blog fellow runner 🙂

  11. RainyWriter February 13, 2014 at 1:36 am #

    I did something similar with picture frames for my wife’s birthday recently. She had something written up about her at the place she does volunteer work at. I stole it … and had it framed for her 🙂

    This V-Day … ACK!!!!!!! I am in panic mode. I ran out tonight and bought her various running stuff … running socks. ACK!!! How unromantic is that?!?!?!?!

    • reach-yourpeak February 13, 2014 at 1:50 am #

      Love the birthday gift! And no that is not lame-id love it! Runners always love new socks and running gear 🙂 maybe add a running top with a Valentine like “youre always running through my head” lolll I’m corny

  12. Nicki February 13, 2014 at 8:01 am #

    Great ideas! My daughter is a huge ticket stub keeper. I am going to pin this so I remember it. Coming over from SITS Girls Comment Love.

    • reach-yourpeak February 13, 2014 at 10:52 pm #

      Post a picture on Pinterest once you make it-I’d love to see it!

  13. Rachel February 13, 2014 at 9:21 am #

    These are such great ideas! So smart to use white board markers and a frame.

  14. Nolie February 13, 2014 at 9:56 am #

    Love the picture frame calendar.

  15. Suzanne February 13, 2014 at 10:09 am #

    Love this! And I think the ticket stub holder is a great idea – I always keep the stubs from games/concerts we go to, but they’re all over the place…don’t want to get rid of them because of the memories, but don’t know what to do with them. Thanks for sharing! #SITSBlogging

  16. SouthernMessMom February 13, 2014 at 10:10 am #

    I love the calendar! Such a simple and yet wonderful gift idea!

  17. Rachée Fagg (@sayitrahshay) February 13, 2014 at 2:17 pm #

    I love the ticket stub holder. My boyfriend saves ticket stubs from everything and this would be better than the shoe box he throws them in.

    • reach-yourpeak February 13, 2014 at 10:51 pm #

      I actually have a memory box too…should probably make one of these for myself 🙂

  18. Rachel February 13, 2014 at 4:11 pm #

    The ticket stub holder is really cute! I love saving my tickets as mementos.

    Stopping over from SITS Girls. Meant to comment Wednesday, but accidentally commented in the wrong group.

    • reach-yourpeak February 13, 2014 at 10:51 pm #

      No worries 🙂 Thank you for the comment love!

  19. Natalie Elisabeth February 14, 2014 at 1:18 am #

    Those are great ideas, we’re not big on Valentine’s Day, but I’ve wanted to do something like this for the kids, when they born in the hospital, just have yet to do so..

  20. Nickida Stephens February 15, 2014 at 9:07 am #

    I love, love, love your ticket stub project. It’s a great way to preserve memories. This year a are having a family love dinner to celebrate.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. DIY Craft Ideas | - March 4, 2014

    […] hard part is actually finding the time to go buy the products, and make it! I have made DIY gifts before for my BF, and tried this DIY workout tank top last month. I always feel accomplished […]

Leave a Reply

