Half-Marathon Training?

7 Feb

Okay so I mentioned in my post about possible races that I want to run the Asbury Park Half…well, try to! It’s at the end of April, so I think it’s totally feasible. I should probably start running more though…

I have done a handful of treadmill runs since November, but last weekend was the first time I ran outside. 2 miles was a struggle! So pathetic πŸ˜›

But I’m ready to get back in shape and chase a half marathon PR for this year.

I Google-ed “how to BQ” or something like that, out of curiosity. I would love to have a Boston Qualifier someday, though I know it’s a long ways off. But that doesn’t mean I can’t start working towards it now.

Can you tell I love someecards?

One of the things I found was that in order to get a faster, average pace, training for a faster 5K can help. I wish I could find the link again, but now I can’t seem to find it.

Last year was basically all marathon training, and while there were speed workouts, I doubt I would have had a 5K PR. I would like to try this methodology out this year, and see if it helps me get a 5K PRΒ and a half marathon PR!

The training plan includes a long run, hill run and tempo run each week, along with easy runs. I would like to continue lifting regularly, so I will probably cut a run-day out for a lifting day. Since I’m not training for a marathon or anything this year, I think I have more leeway to experiment with different things.

Here are the first 2 weeks of this training plan I found by Mario Fraioli:

5k training plan

Currently, I’m just working on re-building my base because I highly doubt I can run for 60 minutes right now. I have done the hill workout though because I love doing hill workouts on the treadmill, and it makes it way less boring.

I’d like to run easy for 2-3 weeks before starting the plan. We’ll see where it takes me! I like trying out new things and seeing how they work. I was very scared to try out Hansons Marathon Method but I loved it and definitely plan on using it again the next time I’m marathon training.

Also-side note-do you guys use Daily Mile to track your mileage? Or a good ol’ fashioned notebook? If you use a notebook, how do you break you run down? I was using an excel sheet but don’t know how to reformat it for a new year, so I will have to start using something else.

What are you training for in the near future?

Do you want to BQ? Is it going to happen sooner or later for you? Hopefully I can get there one day!

*****************************

Follow Reach Your Peak:

12 Responses to “Half-Marathon Training?”

  1. Katie @ My Post Grad Living February 7, 2014 at 1:28 pm #

    I’m training for a half at the end of April too! I just found my training plan yesterday and I’m excited and nervous to start! I definitely need to build up a base before I start. I use combo of MyFitnessPal and MapMyRun for training–the first for when I’m in the gym and the second for when I’m outside.

  2. Sam February 7, 2014 at 1:31 pm #

    I use Endomondo & Nike+ to log my runs automatically. I also have an excel sheet that tallies my distance over the months & then over the year.

  3. Kristin February 7, 2014 at 1:35 pm #

    Hey! That’s great you are getting back into longer runs! Takes dedication, so awesome for you! I use Garmin connect and love it! Great tool if you have a Garmin! Building a base is definitely the key! Good luck!

  4. fitnessmeetsfrosting February 7, 2014 at 3:51 pm #

    I would love to BQ one of these days, but right now I don’t even have the desire to run any marathon haha. I think this will change, but for now I love the half distance.

    • reach-yourpeak February 10, 2014 at 9:14 am #

      Yeah I have no desire to run a full marathon this year lol. Only 5k’s and halfs…BQ is sooooooooo far away for me lol maybe one day!

  5. Holly Costello February 8, 2014 at 12:42 am #

    I want to try to run a half marathon too!! Good luck!

    • reach-yourpeak February 10, 2014 at 9:14 am #

      You should! With proper training most people can finish a half marathon assuming you have no major health issues or injuries πŸ™‚

  6. arunnersenduringexcursion February 8, 2014 at 2:48 pm #

    Good luck to you! You should also look into the “Run Less, Run Faster” program. It is a book and most local book stores such as Barnes and Noble, etc carries the book in stock.

    1.) I am training for marathon 6.0 by running the Kentucky Derby Festival Full Marathon in mid-April.

    2.) After running 5 marathons, 1 half, and becoming more mature in regard to training—I think this will be the year I Boston Qualify. I have dreamed of qualifying for the longest time. I wrote my honors thesis in Undergrad on the history of the Boston Marathon. Oh, how I long for such qualification. Now, actually running Boston would be a completely different story! That would be awesome. lol.

    • reach-yourpeak February 10, 2014 at 9:13 am #

      wow best of luck to you! running boston would be an amazing experience. Sounds like a great paper to write…I know I certainly wouldn’t mind writing a million pages about running πŸ˜‰

      I have heard of that book and plan on using those principles. Always including a long run, tempo and track workout in the mix, and cross training on other days. We’ll see how it goes!

Leave a Reply

