You Love Working Out…But Your Significant Other Doesn’t

6 Feb

I love working out. I love going to the gym and lifting. I love running. I love finding new, healthy recipes to try.

The problem? My boyfriend isn’t that into it.

Well, that’s the point of this post…is it actually a problem? Should you care/worry if your significant other doesn’t share your passion for health & fitness? Will this eventually lead to a break up? Hopefully not!

workingout

While I am passionate about all of those things listed above, I know that Dan isn’t, so I don’t try to push him to do anything. I know we will probably never run a half-marathon together, but that’s okay. I always see couples working out in the gym, but that won’t be us – at least for now.

I know that things may be different if we lived together. We could go to the gym and try new recipes together, especially because he’d be more apt to try them if I cooked them 😉

I don’t need him to lift or run with me, or share the same passions as me, but what I want is for him to be healthy. I want him to stay healthy down the road, which starts with what we do now.

Recently, he has started going to the gym more, and is trying to eat more vegetables. I’m not going to force him to do anything he doesn’t want to do, because that is not the way to get people to exercise. I would never suggest this to one of my personal training clients, so why would I do it to a loved one?

His passion and hobby is sports. He likes going to games of his favorites teams, and reading sports blogs…much like I love fitness blogs 😉

It’s okay to have different hobbies. But I also think it’s good to try each other’s hobbies at least once. You never know if it’s something you’ll fall in love with! I went to my first Devil’s game with him back in 2008, and now my favorite sport to attend or watch is hockey.

Back when you had actual cameras with date stamps as opposed to smartphones lol #feelingold

He said he would do a 5k mud run with me, which I think he would actually like, so perhaps we will do that this summer! We’ve also talked about the NYC Urbanathlon 😛

Tips

So you want to try to get your significant other into fitness? Here are some tips:

  • Try something they’ll like that is active – Dan likes playing basketball outside, so in the past, we’ve gone to the basketball courts a few times. It is a good workout too!
  • Plan an active date – Go for a hike on a nice day, or swimming in the summer.
  • Talk about the future – Tell them about how you want them to be around for a while, and how certain actions could help increase their health (or the opposite). Just don’t sound preachy! People stop listening once it sounds like a lecture.
  • Try something totally new together – There are plenty of challenges out there, whether it’s for a week, or 30 days like Whole30. Whether it’s a weight loss challenge, or a squats/push-ups challenge, do something neither of you have tried.
  • Find another workout buddy – If he/she won’t run with you, it’s not the end of the world. Just find someone who will! I am grateful to have my mom as my daily running/lifting partner.

In the end, don’t force something down his/her throat. You wouldn’t like that either. I have been open to discussions with friends about being a vegetarian, and even tried it for a bit, but if someone started lecturing me or telling me what I do is bad, I’d be turned off by it all together.

Just because your significant other isn’t running or lifting daily with you doesn’t mean it’s a bad thing! Just find activities you will both enjoy, and once they start committing to a healthy lifestyle, support them and be there for any questions they may have.

Do you and your significant other work out together?

If you’re single, is a partner who is into working out a necessity? “Make it or break it” if you will?

********************************

Follow Reach Your Peak:

11 Responses to “You Love Working Out…But Your Significant Other Doesn’t”

  1. Sarah February 6, 2014 at 5:24 pm #

    My husband hates cardio and only lifts and I’m a cardio queen that should lift/strength train way more than I do! I’ve tried lifting with him but honestly… we argue! I know that sounds bad but we have such different workout styles and tend to butt heads. We go to the gym together a lot and then go our separate ways – whatever works right? 🙂

    • reach-yourpeak February 6, 2014 at 8:54 pm #

      lol oh trust me-we have fought too about this. We tried lifting together once and me showing him stuff and it ended up in a huge fight lol so now I just don’t bother anymore!

  2. Janelle @ Run With No Regrets February 6, 2014 at 6:58 pm #

    One of my resolutions this year is to work out more with my boyfriend. He’s actually a much faster runner than I am, but I want it to be more enjoyable for the two of us! Love your suggestions!

  3. irishrunnerchick February 6, 2014 at 8:08 pm #

    My fiance is a much faster runner than I am. Sometimes he’ll do a slow run with me. Other times we’ll start together, run for the same amount of time and then finish together. It works well and I’m super proud of his awesome PRs.

    • reach-yourpeak February 6, 2014 at 8:53 pm #

      Aw I love the idea of starting together and finishing together…good for you guys!

  4. kristenk February 6, 2014 at 11:57 pm #

    Omg are we twins or something? My husband hates working out, but he’s done 2 5ks with me (by choice) and in return I learned about hockey so that I could finally understand what he was watching all the time! It’s cool that we can try out each other’s favorite activities. When it’s warmer out he’ll come running “with me” aka we both run in the same park at different paces, but we never actually work out side by side. I’ll never push him to run, but it’s great that he’s occasionally into it!

    • reach-yourpeak February 7, 2014 at 12:41 pm #

      lol so funny that we have the same experience! Dan runs occasionally too but at the gym, he’s not a big runner. Though hopefully we can do that mud run together!

  5. Kristin February 7, 2014 at 3:19 pm #

    I LOVE your post and definitely agree that it’s fine to have different interests, but should at least try an activity out of your comfort zone because hey, you may love it!! My biggest running/swimming fan is my husband so very thankful for that and very thankful to have a fabulous training partner! Thanks for the great post!

    • reach-yourpeak February 10, 2014 at 9:15 am #

      Thank you for your comment! My bf supports me and has come to my marathons and races too so that’s always nice to see them out there cheering you on…maybe one day he will run with me 😉

      • Kristin February 10, 2014 at 10:08 am #

        That’s great and very comforting to have such a wonderful support system!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

