Runners And Superstitions

4 Feb

Runners, and athletes in general, can be a superstitious bunch. Many have their routines they have to follow before a race, or things they need to eat or wear. I was curious as to what people would say their superstitions were, so I did a little social media poll 😉

I don’t think I have any serious superstitions, but here are a few:

  • I need to eat the same dinner the night before a race, and breakfast the morning of. Usually dinner is chicken, veggies and a sweet potato/rice, and breakfast is oatmeal and 2 hardboiled eggs.
  • I have certain sports bras, shirts and shorts I wear for races.
  • I’ll look at my bib number and if it’s an odd number, I hate it (lol random).

Here are some superstitions people shared with me on Google+:

  • Alex H.-  I don’t shave my face for long runs,like in a week I’m doing a 50 k, I’m looking a bit like santa:-)
  • Nicole H.- I have to be chewing mint gum 🙂
  • Kevin R.- Race day breakfast is a bagel with peanut butter and honey
  • Pedro G.- I wear the same (material) shorts and shirt I train in to race…. gotta have gum… it calms me down. I also wear my dogtags that I’ve had since 1988.
  • Guiseppe M.- I don’t shave my face until the day before the race!
  • Kyoochan C.- I always wear the blue rubber band that my son gave on my right wrist.
  • Derrick J.- I pray before every run. For safety and enjoyment sake.
  • Patty W.- The type socks I train in for a race are the ones I wear @ race

And Twitter:

It’s funny how everyone has their own “superstitions” or that some runners don’t have any at all. Oh, and one of mine is that I always wear my hair in a bun to run 🙂

Do you have running superstitions? Or superstitions in general? Share them in the comments!

********************************

Follow Reach Your Peak:

11 Responses to “Runners And Superstitions”

  1. Alexis @ funrunning4life February 4, 2014 at 3:07 pm #

    In high school, I was very superstitious. I had to tie my shoes a certain way and do like a wheel/bridge stretch before every race. Now, not so much. I like to lay my things out the night before, but other than that, I kind of go with the flow.

    • reach-yourpeak February 4, 2014 at 3:09 pm #

      I should lay my stuff out the night before to avoid running around in the morning. I always make it JUST IN TIME to races lol even if I do lay stuff out sometimes

  2. Ani February 4, 2014 at 3:27 pm #

    Watch, iPod, and road ID are on the right side of my body haha

    • reach-yourpeak February 4, 2014 at 3:30 pm #

      lol are you a lefty? I need watch on my left arm haha

      • Ani February 4, 2014 at 3:37 pm #

        Nope! I am a right-y haha

  3. allie@sweetpotatobites February 4, 2014 at 5:45 pm #

    I’m the same way about food – definitely have to eat the same meal the night before or as close to it as possible. If it’s not broke…

  4. kristenk February 4, 2014 at 10:38 pm #

    I have to eat oatmeal before every run or I’m terrified I’ll have stomach issues! That’s probably my biggest superstition. I also have to high five my husband before I line up for the race or I’m a mess!

  5. Run Pilou Run! February 5, 2014 at 4:47 am #

    I go to the toilet three times before a race (that is from the moment I arrive at the venue to when we start running).

  6. fitnessmeetsfrosting February 6, 2014 at 11:30 am #

    Lol I have to eat the same foods the day before a race and the morning of. I always worry about my stomach. I also visit the toilets at least twice once we arrive haha.

Leave a Reply

