ENERGYbits Review

4 Feb

I have been meaning to write this post for a few weeks, but wanted to try Energy Bits both before a workout, and just in general when I’m in need of energy.

But first, for those of you who haven’t heard of Energy Bits, you may be wondering what the heck I’m talking about. Here’s some information that their brand manager, Jonathan, gave to me:

ENERGYbits is a new Boston based sports nutrition company. ENERGYbits have the highest concentration of protein in the world and deliver a steady stream of energy, all naturally and all without sugar, caffeine, chemicals or stomach distress. Even better, ENERGYbits are the only protein in the world that also contain natural antioxidants and Omega 3 which reduce muscle inflammation, iron which prevents fatigue, chlorophyll which builds the immune system and electrolytes which replenish mineral imbalances, all for just one calorie per tab. No other protein offers all this.

ENERGYbits are all natural too, because they are a food, not a supplement. They have just one ingredient – 100% organically grown spirulina algae. Algae has been used by Olympic athletes for over 50 years, but is still virtually unknown in the USA and Canada.

I was excited to try them out before workouts. The first time I used them before a leg workout. I was feeling tired after work, and it was the perfect time to try them. I must say, I felt consistent energy throughout the workout, and totally forgot I was tired!

The second time I used them was before the Stadium Series, when I had to be up early. I forget why I was so tired, but I didn’t get a good night’s sleep, and knew it would be a long day. While I did need a cup of coffee later (mainly because it was so cold!), I felt nice and awake for the long drive.

What I love about this product is that it’s a natural way to gain energy, as opposed to taking pre-workout supplements or drinking a lot of coffee. I’m skeptical about a lot of pre-workout drinks but I’ll save that for another post.

Here is the nutritional breakdown of ENERGYbits compared to other stuff:

energybits nutrition

One main question I had was how do you take this for long distance runs. Specifically, do you take them in conjunction with gels, or instead of gels, or before a run or during a run? Here’s the answer I got from Jonathan:

 I eat bits prior to a run (and during) instead of gels, but when going longer than 90 minutes I’ll add in another source of calories usually from a whole food based bar – I like Raw Revolution and Organic Food Bar in addition to Pocket Fuel, which is a nut-butter pouch, again with all real ingredients.

The energy gained is different than gels, in that it doesn’t give you a surge, but there’s also no crash – more of a steady boost!
I’ll have to make sure to remember this when I start training for a half marathon again!
Here are a few other things I noticed about ENERGYbits:
  • There is a greeny/fishy smell but that is expected considering it’s algae. Just don’t stick your nose in the container if it bothers you 😉
  • I have only swallowed them but you can chew them too, though the container says that it will taste pretty “green.”
  • They are really small, so I am able to swallow 2-3 at a time, which is convenient since one serving is about 30 tabs!

energybits

  • I had the serving size (30) once, and took about 15 the second time, but still noticed an increase in energy.
  • Cost is $115.00 for 1,000 tabs, but considering it is an all-natural product, I believe it’s way worth it rather than spending on pre-workout supplements and drinks.

ENERGYbits are only available at ENERGYbits.com, and Jonathan (their Brand Manager) has shared with me that he’d be happy to connect anyone with a current ambassador to share a discount on a bag of bits – you can email him at jlevitt@energybits.com.

I plan on using these once I do longer runs, so I will keep you updated on how they work for long distance fueling!

Disclaimer: I was provided a sample of ENERGYbits, but all thoughts and opinions are my own.

Have you tried ENERGYbits? What type of fuel do you use before workouts or for long runs?

********************************

Follow Reach Your Peak:

2 Responses to “ENERGYbits Review”

  1. Sarah @ Sweet Miles February 4, 2014 at 3:26 pm #

    I haven’t tried these yet! I’ve seen them all over Twitter and a few other blogs, and they look so interesting!! I’m always iffy on something that will “give me energy” but I think I’d be willing to try these!

    • reach-yourpeak February 4, 2014 at 3:30 pm #

      I usually am too but loved that these are 100%sipurlina. I should have written that you can add these in green smoothies too!

Leave a Reply

