Tuna Cakes Recipe

23 Jan

Yesterday, I was scrolling through my Instagram feed before getting ready to go to work. I saw this recipe by Leigha of Minou Girl and immediately wanted to try it. So I decided to make it right then and there for my lunch.

tuna cake recipe

Not the best picture but I doubt there is a good way to capture creamy hummus :). It’s super quick and easy to make, and I plan on making this on a regular basis. Some days I get sick of just canned tuna in my salads, so this is a great way to spice it up!

Here’s her recipe, and my modifications/comments are in bold.

Ingredients:

  1. 1 5 oz can of tuna
  2. 1/4 cup oats
  3. 1 tbsp brown spicy mustard (I didn’t have this)
  4. 1 egg
  5. 1/8 tsp salt
  6. 1/8 tsp pepper
  7. 2 tsp dried onion (I didn’t have this)
  8. 1 tsp garlic powder (Forgot to use this)

Directions:

  1. Heat a pan over medium heat and spray with nonstick oil.
  2. Mix the tuna, oats, egg, mustard, and spices in a bowl.
  3. Either form by hand or use a pancake mold like I did. Cook for about 4-5 minutes and then flip. (I don’t have a pancake mold so I just threw 2 chunks on there then molded with a spoon. Didn’t want my hands to smell like tuna!)
  4. Make the sauce by combining greek yogurt with dill spice and lemon juice.
  5. Top cakes with the sauce and serve!

Sauce Ingredients (she made a greek yogurt dill sauce)

  1. 1/4 cup plain greek yogurt
  2. 1/2 tsp dill
  3. lemon juice

I made a hummus dip-only 1 step:

  1. Combine 2 teaspoons of hummus with 1 tablespoon of water and mix. Add more water to make it less thick.

I served them over spinach, artichoke hearts, canellini beans, and cucumbers. It was so good! Now I’m hungry…

Have you made tuna cakes before? Any other creative ways to serve canned tuna? Let me know if you try this!

********************************

Follow Reach Your Peak:

4 Responses to “Tuna Cakes Recipe”

  1. Leigha January 23, 2014 at 12:31 pm #

    I’m so happy you liked them! 🙂 And good to know about those modifications! Your hummus dip sounds awesome too.. I might have to make that soon!

  2. SuzLyfe January 23, 2014 at 3:05 pm #

    Some people are such tuna-haters. But you know what? I. Like it. It is one of my go-tos (like I mentioned in my post last friday). Sometimes I make cakes, sometimes it’s more free-form, but you can’t beat the convenience-nutrition balance. Especially with the lower sodium and more responsibly sourced types. Have a great day, love!

  3. fitnessmeetsfrosting January 24, 2014 at 10:33 am #

    YUM! Love tuna cakes as a fast, easy, healthy meal! I usually add a little egg whites to my mixture to add some moisture. I love serving over salad or on a piece of toast with cheese.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 5 Tips For A Better Salad | - February 27, 2014

    […] such as canned tuna. This was a great way to spice it up and I have made it multiple times since. Here’s the recipe. Perhaps try doing fried eggs instead of hard-boiled, or cook your chicken […]

Leave a Reply

