Running Related Thoughts

15 Jan

inspirational running quote

A lot of things are going through my mind relating to running. I am currently taking a break from running. I run about 1-2x a week, just 2 miles or so.

Actually, today I woke up and thought, “hmm, I’d like to go for a good 3 mile run today!” But my shins have been hurting and my shoes are old, so it wouldn’t be a good idea. Since I’m not training for anything at the moment, it’s not in my budget to get new shoes, so I’ll wait. Though in February I do plan on running more frequently because I have a 5K coming up at the end of March!

It’s been nice to not have any scheduled runs to worry about, and instead focus on lifting. I love increasing my weights every week and getting stronger…but I promise I will get back to running soon 😉

But the main thing I’ve been thinking about is running and safety. You may have heard about the runner, Meg, who was hit by a driver and passed away. When I read that news, I immediately thought to my summer marathon training runs with my mom.

Sometimes, we’d have to do our longer runs on these narrow roads. It’d be after work, so 5:30ish, which means a lot of traffic. I honestly wasn’t too worried about safety, because I figure who can’t see a person running at you in broad daylight? But one time a far got really close…I had to jump into a side bush to avoid getting side swiped.

We tried to limit our runs on those roads and instead ran on a trail near my house but still, even to get to that trail we needed to run on roads. I used to run alone on a trail through these dense woods by my house. I didn’t think any thing of it until I read that more and more runners are being attacked on their runs. I don’t run on trails alone anymore-at least not those in the woods. I run on populated, paved park trails but still get a little paranoid sometimes.

It’s just scary to think that in an instant, things can change. I admit, I really am not that vigilant with runner safety. I run on the opposite side of the road as cars, and wear reflective gear at night, but I should probably get a RoadID or something similar as well. I would always think to myself, “I am watching the cars, if I see someone get too close, I’ll jump to the side.” But you never know- right at that moment, you may look down to change a song on your ipod, or be distracted. Furthermore, this driver was also charged with a DUI. You never know when something could happen due to someone being under the influence.

Random story about that-but one time my friend and I were driving home and stopped at a red light. A car hit us from behind, and slammed us into the truck in front of us. Turns out, the driver was high off oxycodone. Also, the truck in front-the driver’s name was Angel. He told us had he not been there, we certainly would have been propelled into the intersection. Weird, right?!

Anyway, I guess what I’m trying to say is always be vigilant. I certainly need to be better about this. Running is such a great thing. You can be alone with your thoughts. You can escape the stressors of your day. Anyone can do it. We, as runners, just need to make sure we are being as safe as we possibly can be, so that we can return home safely.

UPDATE: Someone on Google+ mentioned that perhaps I should focus on what can go right as opposed to what can go wrong. I responded saying I think that I do focus on what can go right…perhaps too much! I have seen too much news recently about runners, and I am just saying I need to be more proactive when it comes to my safety. Next thing I’m investing in is a way to run with some sort of identification.

How do you make sure to stay safe on your runs?

Do you run on trails alone? Do you ever get paranoid

********************************

Follow Reach Your Peak:

5 Responses to “Running Related Thoughts”

  1. Ani January 15, 2014 at 1:51 pm #

    I do a lot of my runs alone and while I do think about safety, I really am not as good as I should be…

  2. fitnessmeetsfrosting January 15, 2014 at 3:27 pm #

    I heard about Meg today, what a tragedy. I always run with a Road ID and my phone. I run on a trail, but it’s incredibly safe and gets a lot of foot traffic. I like that cars cannot access the trail, and that even bikes have speed limits on it.

    • reach-yourpeak January 15, 2014 at 8:46 pm #

      Yeah I only run if there is a lot of foot traffic on a trail. The one I wrote about definitely did not have a lot of foot traffic! :-O

      • fitnessmeetsfrosting January 15, 2014 at 10:47 pm #

        Yikes! Glad you’re running in higher traffic areas now!

  3. Run Pilou Run! January 16, 2014 at 3:45 am #

    I run only on paved areas: on footpaths along a canal close to my house during the weekends (with my husband), and along the riverbank close to my office during the week (I get up earlier for those runs so want to run where I know there will be more people). I always carry some form of ID with me. I am thinking about joining a running club for those evening runs, but once I get back to running as I too am on a break 🙂

Leave a Reply

