My Current Training Routine

8 Jan

I have been lifting a lot more recently, and really have increased me strength on several big lifts. I haven’t ran more than 2 miles at a time since the NYC Marathon. I wanted a break from schedule runs, and now run by doing hill sprints 1-2x a week.

During marathon training, I didn’t lift a lot or lift heavy, so it was no surprise that my first day back to lifting I felt pretty weak and was extremely sore the next day.

I have been lifting with my brother, and we are following this 16 week program from BodyBuilding.com. His goal was to gain muscle and mass, and he needed a spotter, so I figured I’d join. My current goal is to gain muscle and strength.

The first day we lifted was tough! I used to be way stronger but was struggling to bench press just the bar (45 lbs). In 4 weeks (“Phase 1”), however, I increased my strength in all the lifts! Here are some examples:

The program is 4 phases of 4 weeks. Currently we are in Phase 2 which is Pyramid Training. We start an exercise at 20-15 reps, then decrease reps while increasing weight. It is certainly challenging!

Here is how our week is broken up:

  • Monday- Chest & Back
  • Tuesday- Legs
  • Wednesday- Off
  • Thursday- Shoulders
  • Friday- Full body HIIT/strength
  • Saturday- HIIT/Hill sprints
  • Sunday- Off

My mom started the program 3 weeks ago and has also seen similar results. I’m really liking it so far, and like to do muscle group splits as opposed to full-body. It’s a great way to lift heavy multiple days in a row but give other muscles a break. I love going to the gym each week and increasing the weight in order to challenge myself.

I plan to finish out the program, and then see what my running goals are. For now, I’d like to focus on getting stronger and leaner. I just needed a mental and physical break from a running training plan…I’m sure you’ve all been there! I’ll keep you posted on results after 16 weeks 🙂

Do you follow a lifting plan/routine?

Are you able to lift regularly while also marathon training?

********************************

Follow Reach Your Peak:

 

9 Responses to “My Current Training Routine”

  1. fitnessmeetsfrosting January 8, 2014 at 3:52 pm #

    Congrats on getting back into lifting! Love that you do it with your brother! I’m pretty bad about balancing running and lifting/strength training. Before I started running, I went to the gym 5-6 days a week with my boyfriend to lift and we both got pretty strong. I switched to running and now I rarely lift (trying to change that though)! It’s sad how weak I’ve become!

  2. A Runner's Enduring Excursion January 9, 2014 at 6:44 am #

    I am also getting back into lifting. It is so hard to do something other than running. 🙂 Since I have started this past week, I have thoroughly missed it. It is a great feeling to feel strong!
    Happy Training!
    ~Joshua

  3. Lisa-The Domestic Life Stylist January 9, 2014 at 10:33 pm #

    I don’t follow a lifting routine but am encouraged by your workout regimen. Keep up the good work!

    • reach-yourpeak January 9, 2014 at 10:38 pm #

      Thank you! Hopefully I can keep it up and see the results I want 🙂

  4. Lisa-The Domestic Life Stylist January 9, 2014 at 10:43 pm #

    Your workout is inspiring. Starting to life again would certainly help me carry this heavy car seat and baby around. Stay strong!

  5. lisaatthedomesticlifestylist January 9, 2014 at 10:44 pm #

    Your workout is inspiring. Starting to lift weights again would certainly help me carry this heavy car seat and baby around. Stay strong!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Running Related Thoughts | - January 15, 2014

    […] been nice to not have any scheduled runs to worry about, and instead focus on lifting. I love increasing my weights every week and getting stronger…but I promise I will get back […]

  2. I Can’t Stay Away From Running | - January 24, 2014

    […] been on a running break since the New York City Marathon, and how I’ve been focusing on lifting more. I’ve really enjoyed not having a running training plan and scheduled […]

  3. Get Swole Program Update | - February 24, 2014

    […] January, I shared my current training routine with all of you. For those of who who don’t know, my brother and I have been doing the […]

Leave a Reply

