2014 Races & Fitness Goals

3 Jan

So I really have not given any thought to my 2014 race calendar yet, though I know a lot of people who have!

I have a few races I am interested in, so I figured I’d write them down so I can look back on them. Plus, I’m really chasing a 5K PR this spring/summer (25:43)!

March – Are You Faster Than A Ridge Runner 5K. My parents and I have ran this race for the past 2 years, so I’m sure we will be running it again!

April – Miles For Matheny 5K. This is another race my mom and I have done since 2010. It’s for a great cause-it benefits a school and hospital (The Matheny School) in my town for children and adults with developmental disabilities. This is actually where I got my 5K PR in 2012…so maybe this is the year I beat it on the same course!

At least I got 2nd in my age group last year!

May – (SLIGHT POSSIBILITY) Long Branch Half Marathon. I’m not 100% sure yet if I want to do a half marathon in the spring. I have liked taking a break from scheduled long distance running, and I like having a set lifting regimen again. So we’ll see in a month or two if I want to commit to a half. But it’s 45 minutes away from my house, and it was my first half marathon, so I’d be interested in running it again!

July – Asuncion Runners Half Marathon in Paraguay. This would be really cool if it pans out! My family is traveling to Paraguay this summer, and potentially Rio De Janeiro if we get tickets through the World Cup Lottery. This race is July 13, and we leave Paraguay on July 16, so I am thinking this race will work…and it will be my first international race!

This is in San Bernardino, Paraguay (Where the race will be). It’s a huge lake and summer vacation/resort area.

Fall-ish – I do want to do a half marathon, and hopefully PR. Not sure where or when it will be, but I’m open to suggestions! 🙂

Other Fitness Goals

Besides some running PRs, there are other fitness related goals I am hoping to accomplish. Here are a few:

  • As I mentioned in my 2014 goals post, I want to be able to do 3-5 unassisted pullups!
  • PERHAPS I will try a mini (I’m talking mini) triathlon this summer. There is one in NJ that is like, swim 500 meters, bike 5-6 miles, run 5K. Totally doable for me 🙂
  • Gain more muscle and get leaner through lifting heavy and cleaning up my diet.
  • Squat in triple digits…currently at 70 lbs 😛
  • Get stronger at bench press…this is my ultimate weakness.
  • Post a workout video once a week on my YouTube Channel, please subscribe!

OH, and I’ll also be running a bunch of NYRR races in NYC in order to qualify for the 2015 NYC Marathon!!! Anyone else??

What are your running and fitness goals?

Do you have a PR you really want to break?

********************************

Follow Reach Your Peak:

10 Responses to “2014 Races & Fitness Goals”

  1. Ani January 3, 2014 at 11:27 am #

    Paraguay? Wow that is incredible!!

    • reach-yourpeak January 3, 2014 at 11:34 am #

      Yes I can’t wait!! That is where all of our family is, we actually only have 1 family member in the US. So I’m excited to see family but also visit places like Brazil and Argentina…should be a fun time!

  2. fitnessmeetsfrosting January 3, 2014 at 3:35 pm #

    So exciting!! I love to check out others’ upcoming races/race goals! So cool you run a 5K with your parents!

    • reach-yourpeak January 6, 2014 at 10:40 am #

      thanks! yes I love running with them…plus I get bored running alone 🙂

  3. meghan @ little girl in the big world January 4, 2014 at 5:25 pm #

    If that race in Paraguay works out that would be really cool! I can totally understand wanting to take a break from longer distance running in the spring. Something about sustaining double digit long runs just takes it out of you!

    • reach-yourpeak January 6, 2014 at 10:39 am #

      Exactly! Plus, I dont really feel like running in the cold or on the treadmill for extended periods of time 😉

  4. Workout to Wineglass January 6, 2014 at 10:16 pm #

    Great post! Sounds like you have some good things ahead in 2014 – lots of varied goals that will keep your body challenged and you won’t get bored. And an international half marathon – how COOL is that?!?!?

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog and commenting 🙂 I really appreciate it and hope to see you around more on the ‘net!

    • reach-yourpeak January 6, 2014 at 10:20 pm #

      Same to you! Can’t wait to keep reading.
      The half marathon would be very cool! Hopefully it pans out 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Let’s Talk About Losing Weight | - January 16, 2014

    […] have outlined what my 2014 fitness goals are. Some are running related, some are strength related, but there is one thing I didn’t […]

  2. Fun Fitblogger Survey Pt. 2 | - January 21, 2014

    […] 5. What’s your favorite body part to strength train? Hmm..this is a hard one. I actually don’t like leg day too much-only because it is always so hard! I think I’d have to say back exercises. I always feel stronger each week when I’m doing them, and really want to work up to a pull-up! […]

Leave a Reply

