Coconut PB Protein Bites

22 Nov

My friend told me to try this recipe for “protein bites,” so I finally did…and it certainly did not disappoint! If you’re looking for something all-natural, and just as tasty as a granola bar or sweet treat, then you need to try this.

47ae98d6539911e3856d0e35c325b47e_8

Here’s the recipe:

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips or dried fruit
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter (or almond butter/whatever butter you like)
  • 1/2 cup ground flaxseed
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 tsp. vanilla (oops I just realized I forgot to use this…oh well, it’s still so good!

Then:

  1. Stir all the ingredients together in a large bowl. I used my hands to make sure everything was mixed together.
  2. Let chill in the fridge for about an hour
  3. Enjoy!

My friend suggested putting them in ziploc bags in the freezer so they keep their shape, and you can save them longer. Seriously, they are delicious. I have a sweet tooth problem, so I always look for healthy and all-natural options for when I’m craving a cookie or something.

coconut bites

Obviously you can’t eat the entire batch just because it’s all-natural. Moderation is still key. With the amounts listed above, I made 15 protein balls, and according to my calculations (and with the ingredients I used), it’s about 100 calories each. I also accidentally got sweetened coconut flakes, so that’s probably extra calories.

Let me know if you decide to try them & what you think!

Do you have a “go-to” for when your sweet tooth strikes?

********************************

Follow Reach Your Peak:

2 Responses to “Coconut PB Protein Bites”

  1. Jan @ Sprouts n Squats November 23, 2013 at 5:16 am #

    Yum this recipe sounds like a great one!! I will have to give it a go. So many snack recipes like this use dates which are always too harsh on my digestion so love that this one doesn’t.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fun Fitblogger Survey! | - November 26, 2013

    […] cravings? Find healthy alternatives. If I want a sweet treat, recently, I’ve been having these protein bites instead. I also like Larabars. If you like more salty, try making kale […]

Leave a Reply

