NYC Marathon Training Week 17

28 Oct

17 weeks in the books! Wow…cannot believe it…The last 3 weeks of this training plan have not gone as planned, however. I had to cross train all of last week, and this week I took it easy because of my shin…but at least I am back to running! It’s a lot less than my training plan called for but do you think that will make a huge difference?

Here’s last week’s info:

Monday:

Supposed to do 6×1 mile at 10 sec. faster than goal marathon pace.

Cross-trained instead.

Tuesday:

I think I was supposed to do 6-7 miles. It was my first day back to running in 8 days, so I eased into it with an easy 3 miles. Felt ok but definitely felt more “tired” while running than I usually do.

Wednesday:

Easy 4 miles…felt pretty good!

Thursday:

Needed to do 1 mile warm up, 10 miles at goal pace, 1 mile cooldown.

This was obviously not happening. I did half mile warm up, 6 miles at goal pace, half mile cooldown. Pace was ok…kind of slower than it needed to be (10:18) but it was hilly towards the end.

Friday:

Easy 4 miles. No pain…felt pretty good.

Saturday:

Off

Sunday:

Needed to do 6 but I was EXHAUSTED from not sleeping Friday night. Took off =( At least I got a full body massage though!

So now it’s taper time…I ran significantly fewer miles than my plan advised…do you think this will affect me?

My biggest fear right now is starting the race and feeling tired and heavy and out of breath by mile 3. You know those runs? I hope this doesn’t happen.

My sports chiro said my leg feels much looser, and the pain has gone away…but I’m still very nervous!!! I plan on hydrating this week, but also making sure I take care of my shin. Elite runner Jenny Simpson even offered me advice!

I had such a good training cycle up until Week 16…I keep trying to remember all of that but I can’t help but feel nervous and scared that I won’t finish.

Have you ever felt like this before a race? How do you banish negative thoughts? Help!!

********************************

Follow Reach Your Peak:

3 Responses to “NYC Marathon Training Week 17”

  1. seethisgirlrun October 29, 2013 at 12:22 pm #

    Maybe this is a good thing! It sounds like your body needs the break. Take it easy (not too easy of course) and listen to your body! You’ll have to push through a little bit but you’ve done 16 good weeks of training. That’s great!! You can do this! You’ll totally finish! Don’t let those negative thoughts hang around. Remind yourself of all your hard work over the last few months and that you’ve done this before! You are capable and you’ll be great!

  2. kim October 30, 2013 at 11:31 am #

    Sometimes a break does more good than you think. Stay positive. There is nothing worse than going into a race with bad thoughts in your head. “Your body does what the mind believes”

    Trust in the work you’ve put in. Go to the race with the intention of having fun and not pressuring yourself. Enjoy the sites, sounds and celebrate your achievement. The run will go great!

Leave a Reply

