NYC Marathon Training Week 16

21 Oct

Sigh. That’s how I’d some up this week. I had to cross train all week, and will continue to do so this week until Wednesday when I will try to run again. Here’s what I did:

Monday:

Off. Legs tired from Sunday’s long run.

Tuesday:

Needed to do 1 mile warm up, 4×1.5 miles, 1 mile cooldown. Did it on the bike instead because of shin pain.

Wednesday:

Off.

Thursday:

Needed to do 1 mile warm up, 10 miles at goal pace, 1 mile cooldown. Shin hurt as soon as I started my warm up, so nope, didn’t run. Swam/pool ran for 70 minutes instead.

Friday:

Another attempt at a run. Nope. Walked for 40 minutes instead. Also decided to try a epsom salts.

Saturday:

Supposed to do 10 miles. Did 65 minutes of cross training instead. An assortment of things: 15 minutes elliptical, 10 minutes rowing machine, 10 minutes arc trainer, 10 minutes stairmaster, finished with a non-impact cardio/abs circuit.

Sunday:

Another hour of pool running.

Please please please let this all be enough/maintain my fitness. I just want to finish the race and not feel miserable!

Have you had to cross-train for an extended period due to injury? How did you feel when you started running again?

********************************

Follow Reach Your Peak:

2 Responses to “NYC Marathon Training Week 16”

  1. Kim October 22, 2013 at 1:03 pm #

    I went to buy new shoes two weeks ago and the guy who fitted me went to the Olympic marathon trials. I told him how my hamstrings, ankles, shins, basically everything was hurting. He said I didn’t rest enough. I argued that I would “lose fitness” and he said “nope – you lose less than you think, trust me”

    Have faith in all the hard work you’ve done to this point – you’re muscles remember. You’re in the home stretch now – you’ll feel better going in fresh. Best of luck!

    • reach-yourpeak October 22, 2013 at 2:10 pm #

      Thank you!! I keep trying to tell myself that btu it’s hard not to feel like you’re losing fitness…but I need to convince myself my body clearly needed the rest =/

Leave a Reply

