Nervous…and Paranoid

18 Oct

We are 16 days out from NYC Marathon…and I’m really nervous.

I haven’t ran the past 4 days. One of my friends was like, that is not a big deal! Muscle memory, etc.

But I am really worried! I missed a 4×1.5 mile workout and a 10 mile tempo workout. I plan on doing the tempo run tomorrow…but I hate that I low on my mileage this week, and had to skip runs due to my shin pain. I did do cross training. Monday, I rode the bike, and yesterday I pool ran for over an hour (SO BORING).

I am going to lay out my worries, because I think writing/expressing them will help:

1) I’m worried that I’m losing fitness…I know that I really wont in just 4 days BUT I’ve had to miss a few days in the past 2-3 weeks due to this pain, and I’m scared of it all adding up.

2) I’m scared that I won’t be able to finish in less than 5 hours, which is my ultimate goal. I feel like missing these runs are going to affect my overall time.

3) I’m scared my shin will hurt during the race and I won’t finish. Surprisingly, this is the least of what I’m worrying about but it’s still in the back of my mind.

Basically, I just want to run this marathon and feel good. Like I’ve said a few times before, in 2011, I ran my first marathon and was miserable. I was done by mile 17 and had to walk/run the rest of the way in. We were on track for a 4:55 marathon and ended up in 5:20. I felt bad that I held my mom back.

I know it had to do with fueling and hydration. I just want to finish this race feeling strong. Obviously I will be tired by the last few miles, but I want it to be “normal” tired, not exhausted and puking at the finish line, like last time.

This post was really random…and I just wanted to get these worries out there and hopefully hear from other runners who have gone through the same thing.

Did missing a few days affect you in the end? Or not really?

Were you really worried? How did you get over that?

I’ll leave you with something the Hanson’s tweeted me (I’m following their training plan). I needed to hear this!

Screen shot 2013-10-18 at 11.25.46 AMI will certainly try to remember this!

********************************

Follow Reach Your Peak:

13 Responses to “Nervous…and Paranoid”

  1. Ani October 18, 2013 at 12:29 pm #

    I ran my fist marathon this past weekend and I had some of the same concerns going in. I had to take two weeks off from running because of ankle pain with just three weeks until the race. I never made it to my longest run and you know what? I killed Chicago. I ran it in 3:42 with a negative split and never hit a wall. Ultimately, just get to the starting line healthy and everything will fall into place. Good luck!

    • reach-yourpeak October 21, 2013 at 7:37 am #

      Wow that’s awesome congratulations!! I have read a few bloggers who had to take time off before marathons and ended up doing great…I hope this is the case for me!

  2. Fjola Melody October 18, 2013 at 12:48 pm #

    I had my IT band issue flare up after a particularly fast 10k race, two weeks before my half marathon. It was so bad that I had to taper to the extreme (the opposite of what I wanted to do) – my 18 mile week became 5 and my 14 mile week became 6. I wasn’t running for 2-3 days at a time. I was so worried I was going to feel too lethargic during the race, and I’d still be injured or worse at the end. The race itself wasn’t easy, as my knee was hurting, but after a mental discussion with myself (do I drop out? do I walk? do I crush my goal anyway and risk further injury?) I ended up adjusting my gait dramatically and finding a way to almost “drag” my leg so that I didn’t feel a lot of pain. I thought I was destroying other muscles that I hadn’t used in that way.

    THE LESSON was I didn’t shred my calves or my hamstrings. My knee/IT band wasn’t any more ruined than before (thank GOD for my ART provider!) I discovered I was far more “fit” than I thought, and I owe it to the months of training before. That was a half marathon though, and in this case I will use the term “only” a half (I have done a full too). You will know what needs to be done. I recommend looking up http://www.chirunning.com/ (or more specifially http://www.chirunning.com/search/results/c2hpbg) for some form tips that might help, even at the last minute!

    It might not be easy to do, but focus on what is going right. It is SO easy to think “OWWWW” and “WHYYYY” (believe me, I know!) but if you can, notice anything else, your arm swing, your clear sinuses, the weather, the funny signs, the fact you still have two legs. Sounds cliche, I know, but being grateful for everything (even the lessons you didn’t want to learn) is the key to happiness, especially in a marathon. High five some kids, you’re inspiring them too!

    Most of all, I wish you the best of luck. Trust your training, despite the recent setback. Take the lessons you’ve learned from fueling last time, and know that you won’t make those same mistakes which already puts you at an advantage! You can crush this!

    • reach-yourpeak October 21, 2013 at 7:36 am #

      thank you so much for taking the time to write this! I will check out the link, I’ve heard a lot about Chi Running. I love your comment about being grateful..you are so right. Sometimes we get so caught up in things that we forget we are blessed to be able to run 26.2 miles!

      • Fjola Melody October 21, 2013 at 9:58 am #

        ❤ Crush that race baby, she's yours!

  3. trainrite00 October 18, 2013 at 12:51 pm #

    Haha – i loved the pic you posted (I may have to borrow it!). I just put an end to my marathon training when my knee pain started getting out of control. I think if I had taken the extra days rest like you are – and not ignored the pain like I did – I’d be able to run it this weekend. Alas, I haven’t run in weeks and it’s still swollen. Good for you for listening to your body, and you’ll do great… just don’t push too hard!

    • reach-yourpeak October 21, 2013 at 7:35 am #

      thank you…I hope so!!! We’ll see what happens

  4. Nora October 18, 2013 at 4:43 pm #

    You’ve done the bulk of your training already; I really think rest/avoiding more serious injury > any benefit you’d get from the missed miles. Trust me I have these fears plus others but either way the race is happening so it’s more helpful to focus on the things that went well in your training and make sure your body is fresh for the race. Race adrenaline will help!

    • reach-yourpeak October 21, 2013 at 7:34 am #

      thank you! I’m hoping the race adrenaline helps and masks any pain 😉 I took this whole past week off and cross trained so I’m hoping I didn’t lose too much =(

  5. Run Pilou Run! October 20, 2013 at 4:42 am #

    I think you’ve done enough to reach your goal time. I would recommend you rest that shin, and if possible get it checked out by a pro…you really don’t want it to go from shin splints to a stress fracture right before your marathon.

    I’m sure you’ll do incredibly well!

    • reach-yourpeak October 21, 2013 at 7:33 am #

      Thanks! I go to a sports chiro and he thinks it is tight calf muscles…hopefully not a stress fracture but I’m nervous about that because only 1 point along my shin is really tender. SIGH.

  6. travisrr17 October 24, 2013 at 5:27 pm #

    I’m currently battling shin splints. The most annoying thing to me besides being sick. Good write!

Leave a Reply

