NYC Marathon Training Week 15

14 Oct

I am so tired from yesterday’s run and having to be up today to be at work at 7 am, that I forgot what I usually title these posts. My brain is feeling like mush!

My body is starting to feel the effects of training and I am SO ready for a break. I just want the race to get here already.

Here’s this week’s recap:

Monday:

Spin class with a friend. Decided to cross train instead of run 7 miles.

Tuesday:

1 mile warm up, 3×2 miles, 1 mile cool down. Needed to run at 10 sec faster than goal pace.

Success! Felt great and running 10 sec. faster than goal pace did not feel that challenging! Also remembered why I love to run on this run…inspired by these beautiful views:

Wednesday:

Off

Thursday:

10 mile tempo run at marathon goal pace.

As usual, I always doubt myself in the first 1-2 miles, then end up warming up and feeling great. We did this on a hilly course and for some reason I run faster on hilly roads than flat ones? Hit our paces even though mom had to stop at 9 miles due to IT band pain. I kept going on and finished with 1/2 mile cooldown.

Friday:

Easy 4 miles with a friend.

Saturday:

Easy and slow 3 miles…ran 3 min walked 1 minute due to shin pain. Trying to take it easy.

Sunday:

16 miles on the marathon course! Felt great and now I know where I can expect some tough portions to be but I am ready!!

When you’re training for something for weeks, towards the end are you just ready for it to get there and be over with?

I’m excited but can’t wait to not HAVE to run on certain days!

********************************

Follow Reach Your Peak:

2 Responses to “NYC Marathon Training Week 15”

  1. ginacalc October 14, 2013 at 5:22 pm #

    Hi Patty! I totally understand how you feel. The Hansons plan definitely wore me down as well, and at about four weeks out I definitely started to have those feelings where you just want the race to be over! All I can say is stick with it – it will all be worth it when you cross the finish line in New York and the hard work has paid off. I feel like I’m a stronger person for having taken on a tough training plan, and I know you are as well!

    Are your shins feeling better? I hope so!

    • reach-yourpeak October 15, 2013 at 10:06 am #

      Thanks for your comment! I know it will all beworth it, though the 10 day taper does make me nervous since most people do 2-3 weeks. But I am trying to trust them. I’m ready for these long tempo runs to be over haha. My shins feel ok…a little better but still hurt. They definitely need abreak!

Leave a Reply

