Vegetarian Chili Recipe

1 Oct

A few weeks ago, a friend sent me a video called “Meet Your Meat.” I knew I shouldn’t watch it but I did…and I won’t subject you to it by posting it here because it’s rather graphic, but you can google it if you want!

Anyway, the video inspired me to try to eat LESS meat each week. I don’t think I can ever be a full vegetarian, but I’m trying to do what I can. Which is how I found this recipe!

vegetarian chili recipe

Now that it’s fall, it’s the perfect weather for chili! You can make this in a crockpot too if you don’t buy your beans pre-cooked like I did. I found this recipe on allrecipes.com. Here are the ingredients and instructions, with my notes in bold.

Serves 4
  • 1 medium red onion, chopped (I used a yellow onion)
  • 1 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 4 garlic cloves, chopped (I used pre-chopped garlic and put in 2 heaping teaspoons)
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin (I didn’t have this available)
  • 2 teaspoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • kosher salt and black pepper
  • 1 28-ounce can fire-roasted diced tomatoes
  • 1 15.5-ounce can black beans, rinsed
  • 1 15.5-ounce can kidney beans, rinsed
  • 1 medium sweet potato (about 8 ounces), peeled and cut into 1⁄2-inch pieces
  • sour cream, sliced scallions, sliced radishes, and tortilla chips, for serving (served with rice and tortilla chips, didn’t have sour cream, scallions, or radishes)

Directions

  1. In a 4- to 6-quart slow cooker, combine the onion, bell pepper, garlic, chili powder, cumin, cocoa, cinnamon, 1 teaspoon salt, and ¼ teaspoon black pepper. Add the tomatoes (and their liquid), beans, sweet potato, and 1 cup water.
  2. Cover and cook until the sweet potatoes are tender and the chili has thickened, on low for 7 to 8 hours  or on high for 4 to 5 hours (this will shorten total recipe time).
  3. Serve the chili with the sour cream, scallions, radishes, and tortilla chips.

*I obviously didn’t use a slow cooker, so here’s how I did it, in case you don’t have a slow cooker.

1) Saute your onions.

IMG_5798

2) Add in the chopped green peppers.

IMG_5799

3) Add in the rest of the ingredients (cinnamon, cocoa, garlic, chili powder, beans). Also add in sliced sweet potato (not shown).

IMG_5800

IMG_5801

4) Add in chopped tomatoes. I also added in a bit of Bertoli pasta sauce. Lastly, add in 1 cup of water.

IMG_5802

5) Let simmer on low for 30-60 minutes depending on how you like the consistency of your chili (or how long it takes for the sweet potatoes to get tender).

*Enjoy!*

My family loved this dinner…it was delicious! A great way to get in protein by going meatless, and a good amount of fiber too. Feel free to add any other ingredients you would like in your chili, and let me know what they are so I can try it too!

Do you like chili in the fall?

Do you use a crockpot or slow cooker? What are your favorite recipes for it? I need ideas!

********************************

Follow Reach Your Peak:

5 Responses to “Vegetarian Chili Recipe”

  1. Andrea @Pencils and Pancakes October 1, 2013 at 7:04 pm #

    If you make sure you know where and how the animals are raised, it makes it a lot easier to stomach eating meat. The truth is, if most people knew how supermarket meat is raised, they wouldn’t wanna eat it. I know I don’t, that’s why I get mine from the farm!

    • reach-yourpeak October 1, 2013 at 10:04 pm #

      Exactly! I try to get farm raised/grass fed stuff too, especially eggs.

  2. Meg Hoffman (@NonProfit_Meg) October 2, 2013 at 9:33 am #

    This is my FAVORITE chili recipe! It doesn’t require a lot of ingredients or prep work, so it’s easy to just toss in and let it cook. I prefer sweet over savory or spicy any day, and I love to make a big batch of this to have for lunch or dinner leftovers during the week. I’ll usually throw in an extra green pepper and sweet potato, and maybe an extra can of beans. I serve it with sliced avocado and shredded cheddar on top. YUM

    Re: other crockpot recipes, I love making overnight oatmeal for breakfast when it gets cold out. There are tons of variations out there, lots with apple and cinnamon! I serve that with chopped nuts, a spoon of almond or peanut butter, and sliced banana on top.

    • reach-yourpeak October 2, 2013 at 11:24 am #

      I agree, the chili is so easy to make! I should have added cheddar on top that sounds delicious…and so do the overnight oats! I’ve never tried making that but perhaps I will this fall/winter 🙂

      • Meg Hoffman (@NonProfit_Meg) October 2, 2013 at 11:54 am #

        I like to make a few servings of the oatmeal, and then when I reheat them I just pour a little extra milk on top before putting them in the microwave. Helps make it a little extra creamy!

Leave a Reply

