Motivational Monday!

30 Sep

I can’t believe it’s almost October! Fall is my favorite season and I’d like it to slow down because I hate winter…

I found a great quote today for something I can definitely relate to after the past week:

As you may have seen on Twitter or Instagram, I had to take a few days off of running last week due to a shin pain/inflammation. It was hard and it sucked, but I knew I had to do it if I wanted to stay healthy.

Sometimes it’s hard for us to take necessary rest days, whether it’s running or at the gym. Once you get into your groove/flow, missing a day feels weird. Every plan has rest days built in to them (or should), but the rest days that aren’t planned are the worst. So many questions were going through my head – “Will I lose some fitness?” “Will this affect my marathon?” “Should I just try to run and see what happens?”

Remember, it’s important to listen to your body. If it’s hurting, it’s giving you a sign. I’m talking about more than just a little soreness or fatigue. As the quote says, take care of your body! If you want to make it to the starting line healthy (or continue lifting), take rest days. It’s better to miss a few days than be side-lined for months.

Do you have a hard time taking rest days when you’re hurting? How do you cope?

********************************

Follow Reach Your Peak:

One Response to “Motivational Monday!”

  1. Andrew Turner October 4, 2013 at 1:55 am #

    Sorry to hear about your shin problem.
    I just happened accross your blog which is great.
    I had been having terrible problems whilst trying Hansons for mortals for the first time following 2 truly awful marathons the previous 2 years.
    Even though I did none of the strength work I still had a great race and put it down partly

    to Hansons idea of cumulative fatigue, better pacing and W.Australian carbo loading.

    The last 4 K were my fastest of the race and although I was hurting I could still run hard.
    I was so surprised by the result that I wrote about it here http://www.oldmarathonrunner.co.uk
    Good luck and hope the shins improve. If you can run on the soft for your hard workouts it helps a lot.
    My last 4 K were the fastes of the 42

Leave a Reply

