110% Overdrive Compression Sock & Ice Kit Review

24 Sep

This post is a long time coming. Like, from May. Oops!

The 110% Overdrive Compression Sock and Ice Kit is……………amazing.

I was so excited to try these out, and actually found out about them from elite runner, Lauren Fleshman, who first blogged about it around Feb.-March. I knew I had to try them out because of the ice kit.

Basically, the kit is a pair of compression socks, with another “sock” that goes over for when you want to ice your legs. Perfect for my shin issues! It also comes with a thermal bag for you to travel with your ice packs.

The compression socks are anatomically accurate (left for left foot, right for right foot), which I like. Not sure if it matters but I like that little fact. The ice kit that goes over is open in the toe and heel so you can slip in the ice packs (which come with the kit). Here’s the description of the kit from their website:

The Overdrive Kit includes:

110% Compression Sox (White): Engineered for recovery and performance, the gradient compression enhances circulation while the unique design protects your legs and feet from the wear and tear of long tough workouts.  The roomier toe box, arch support and non-binding top band make them exceptionally comfortable and ideal for travel too. (Kit includes one pair of compression socks)

110% Compression Ice Sleeve (Black): Engineered to make rehab simple, Overdrive’s Ice Sleeve allows for  targeted placement of 110% Reusable Ice Inserts to prevent swelling and reduce inflammation. The soft compression sleeve fits perfectly over the compression sock with openings at the arch of the foot, the ankle and just below the knee. (Kit includes one pair of compression sleeves)

And a picture from their site, where you can see the sock, the ice sleeve, and the ice packs.

I tried these out the night before the Brooklyn Half Marathon, because I wanted my shins and calves to feel fresh the next day.

And they sure did! After a tough run, I throw these on for recovery, and when I need ice, I no longer have to tie awkward ice packs on my legs with a random shirt because I don’t have a theraband.

After the Brooklyn Half, these were perfect for instant recovery on the 1 1/2 hour drive home.

Seriously amazing. These are just as comfortable on my long runs and tempo runs as well.

How has no one thought of this before 110%?!? Now you can RICE all at once (Rest, Ice, Compression, Elevate).

If you like compression gear, then make a lot more than just socks. You can get just compression socks without ice, or if you like ice, you can get compression shorts, knee sleeves, quad sleeves, full compression tights…all with ice! It seriously doesn’t get any better than that.

If you’re shopping around for compression gear, I highly recommend you check out 110%. And if you are wary about the benefits of compression gear, I bet you these socks will change your mind 😉

Have you tried compression socks? Do you have a favorite brand? Tell me in the comments!

*Disclaimer: 110% compensated me for this post. All opinions are my own.

**********************

Follow Reach Your Peak:

3 Responses to “110% Overdrive Compression Sock & Ice Kit Review”

  1. Jim Hartman September 24, 2013 at 12:30 pm #

    How did you know what size to get ? The sizes are just 2,3,4 and 5….. Thanks !

    • reach-yourpeak September 25, 2013 at 1:31 pm #

      Jim, when you go to the product page and scroll down there should be a sizing chart available. I was a size 3. Hope this helps!

  2. SCSU Campus Rec September 24, 2013 at 3:19 pm #

    Reblogged this on SCSU Campus Rec.

Leave a Reply

