Motivational Monday!

23 Sep

I had a great weekend, and will be writing a race recap of the Fifth Avenue Mile for tomorrow (though if you follow me on Instagram you saw all my pics). Now it’s time for a big week of training…This is supposed to be the second highest mileage in 1 week that I will hit in this training round. Ahhhhh!! I hope everything goes smoothly, especially because my shin has been acting up…

Anyway, I found this quote and can really relate to this right now, especially as a lot of people I follow are also in the midst of marathon training:

How many times have you compared yourself to someone else? Whether it’s lifting, running, cycling…whatever. I do it all the time. I read about runners hitting their long run races in 8-9 minute miles and know I am still way far off from that. Sometimes it gets to me, and I get negative…but then…(going along with my recent How I Met Your Mother Addiction)

I remember the awesome things that I have accomplished. Sure, I may not be the fastest runner in the world (but I’m working on it and hope to get there eventually, cough BQ cough)…but I am training for a marathon. My body is running day in and day out to run a 26.2 race.

I know a lot of other runners who have been caught in the comparison trap…and we all need to stop! We are all doing amazing things. We get up to run, we run late, we miss things because we need to run the next day…it doesn’t matter how fast or how far you can run, you are getting out there.

Same thing can apply to anything. When I was lifting regularly, I was frustrated that I couldn’t bench as heavy as other people, or squat as heavy as other people…but again, I was in the gym…my body was lifting more than it ever has, and I should be happy with that.

One of my friends recently pointed out that we should stop saying, “Oh, I only did ______”. For example, “Hey how long did you run today?” “Oh, just 4 miles.” She said, stop saying “just!” you RAN. That’s what matters. (Thanks for this Alicia, if you’re reading).

So this week, I encourage you all to stop comparing yourself. When you catch yourself, think of the above Barney Stinson quote 😉 Seriously though, just think of how awesome you are!

Do you compare yourself to others?

How do you remind yourself that you’re awesome? Leave me some tips!

**********************

Follow Reach Your Peak:

3 Responses to “Motivational Monday!”

  1. Nora September 23, 2013 at 7:57 am #

    This is definitely me! Yesterday I planned a long run of 6-8 miles but wasn’t feeling great so I “only” did 6. It’s ridiculous to say that but it’s hard to stop when I’m around other runners running more/faster. In one respect it’s helpful because it motivates me to try harder but also I’d really like to just enjoy the moment I’m in and be proud of myself even though every race can’t be a PR, etc.

    • reach-yourpeak September 23, 2013 at 7:58 am #

      I can totally relate! I try to tell myself not every race can be a PR too but it’s hard not to want one every race! Keep up the good work! 🙂

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  2. ankushmehta September 23, 2013 at 8:52 am #

    Reblogged this on Icanbeatit.

Leave a Reply

