Training With Marc

17 Sep

I’m starting a new series on my blog, called Training With Marc. Marc Pelerin is a running coach, and runs TrainWithMarc.com. He provides runners with personalized plans to help them achieve their goals. Oh and he was also an awesome runner in high school and in college…so he’s got a lot of experience! Visit his website for more info on the coaching he provides. I worked with him for over 2 years and was very happy with the results! 

Today he will be talking about strength training. Strength training is very important for runners. It helps you to correct muscle imbalances, and avoid injury. Plus, there are great exercises anyone can do even if you aren’t a runner.

Without further ado, here’s Marc!

***************************

Hi everyone!  It’s Coach Marc and I’m back. This time I’m writing about my favorite body weight exercises.  As always, if you’re unsure of how to do an exercise, ask someone or look it up on the internet.

Before we get started, here are some of my “tips” to ensure I have a great post-run lifting session:

1.  Make sure I’ve been hydrating all day; not just in the 10 minutes before I run or workout.

2.  Make sure I’m warmed up.  It’s really tough to be strong when your muscles are cold.

3.  Have some great tunes or a buddy to keep you motivated.

4.  Don’t waste time.  Go from one exercise straight to the next.  Keep that heart rate UP!

OK, now that we have that settled, let’s get into some lifting exercises.  Typically, I’d try and do 3 rounds of each exercise.  The amount or time I spent on each exercise varies depending on where I am in my training.  The reps or times below are guidelines and not the rule.

 

Front Plank – 45 seconds

Squat Jumps – 10 reps

Pushups – 12 reps

Lunges* – 12-15 reps

Seated dips – 15 reps

 

*Beginners should do stepping lunges; transition to a walking lunge; finally, the advanced move is jump lunges.

For more tips, tricks, and all things running, be sure to visit trainwithmarc.com.

***************************

Do you like doing body weight exercises, or do you prefer doing them with weights? For me, it depends on my goals. I certainly don’t mind body weight squats as opposed to barbell squats 😉

 

Follow Reach Your Peak:

2 Responses to “Training With Marc”

  1. Marc Pelerin September 18, 2013 at 6:39 am #

    Reblogged this on TrainWithMarc and commented:
    Runner’s need to strength train. Find out what my quick and easy routine looks like! (Guest post from reach-yourpeak.com).

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Training With Marc: “I’m Injured, Now What?” | - October 2, 2013

    […] Check out the first Training With Marc post! […]

Leave a Reply

