Week 10 of NYC Marathon Training

9 Sep

Another week done. Now we are about to get in the tough portion of Hanson’s Marathon Method…I’m kind of nervous! This week includes 6×1 mile repeats, an 8 mile tempo run, and a 16 mile long run…

Here’s last week’s recap:

Monday:

Track workout.

4×1200 meters with 400 recovery @ goal 5K pace.

We felt really good for this track workout, as opposed to last week’s where we started to doubt ourselves. Our paces were right on the money, and we felt strong overall. Obviously I was tired by the last 2 reps but it always feels good to finish a tough workout. My dad tagged along and did his own track workout because he wants to run the Fifth Avenue Mile with us in a couple of weeks!

Family track workout

Tuesday:

Off

Wednesday:

8 mile tempo run with a 1 mile warm up and cool down. Total=10 miles.

Another great run for us. I felt confident going into this that we could keep our goal marathon pace for 8 miles. While we didn’t hit each mile EXACTLY due to hills, etc., the average pace was good and we were mostly in the range, as seen below (though we definitely started too fast).

Thursday:

Had to move my schedule around because I knew I wasn’t doing my long run on Saturday this week (football game). Today we did an easy 5 miles before heading to a Blake Shelton concert! Who are my country fans?

Friday:

10 mile long run for the week.

When we left, we said let’s just do 8. We were feeling tired and slugging, but once we got out there we felt fine. At mile 8 I said let’s just do 1 more mile, then once we hit 9 we were like, well we might as well make it 10! The weather was great too…though I still get salt stains from sweating too much! Who else gets these?

Saturday:

Early morning 6 miles before heading to the Rutgers football game. Check out this weather??? A little TOO chilly for me but I cant complain.

Sunday:

Was supposed to do 7-8 miles but decided to take the day off. My mom has been feeling really fatigued, and this upcoming week will be a tough one, so we called it a rest day. Hey, we haven’t skipped any days yet in this plan and it’s been 10 weeks! This is the best I have ever done following a plan πŸ™‚

Do you think taking a rest day before a hard week is ok? One day won’t make or break us right? I was a little paranoid all day about it but it felt good to just relax!

***********************

Follow Reach Your Peak:

2 Responses to “Week 10 of NYC Marathon Training”

  1. MJruns September 10, 2013 at 8:02 am #

    One day will not make/break – think of your (smart) rest day as preventive medicine or prehab! As Greg McMillan says, better to show up healthy and a little undertrained than overtrain/get hurt and be the fittest spectator!

  2. leaner by the lake September 11, 2013 at 12:57 pm #

    That is just amazing that your family is training together! When I see whole families running together on the lake shore path near our apt in Chicago it makes me so happy and filled with joy – especially when it’s many different ages. Since I’ve gotten into running, I’ve been getting my parents more involved in activity and just yesterday we all signed up to run a 5k together in Chicago. I’m so proud of them for making changes and being open.

    Also – marathon training. You’re legit. Congrats!

Leave a Reply

