Halfway Through Marathon Training

5 Sep

I can’t believe we are almost done with week 10. Since we are more than halfway there, I wanted to take some time to reflect on how training is going. As you know, my mom and I have been using the Hansons Marathon Method to train for the NYC Marathon. Here are some thoughts.

Mileage

It actually hasn’t been bad at all! When I first read this plan I was so nervous. Running 6 days a week?!!? I hadn’t done that since high school cross country. I have shin issues…would this be a good idea? The most I have ever ran in a week was 37 miles during marathon training in 2011. We will be running close to 60 miles during peak weeks and have already ran over 37 weekly miles…and ran the most in a year EVER!

It hasn’t been bad at all. Yes, I am tired some days, especially after harder days, but I look forward to each run. Running 6 days a week hasn’t been bad at all, and in fact, my shins have been hurting less than in other training bouts…did running MORE help??

The Workouts

They’ve been tough at times but I look forward to the hard days (track workouts, tempo runs, and the long run). We had an awesome tempo run yesterday which actually made me feel confident that we will be able to do way better this marathon. While I’m a little scared of the fact that the longest run we will do is 16 miles…I am trusting the plan and the science behind it. I definitely feel fitter!

Overall

We are feeling good. We have some aches and pains occasionally as is expected. I am still practicing with fueling on long runs. Currently, I’m taking half a GU every two miles with 4 oz. of water. I think I need more though, from what I read, I should take 1 GU every 25 minutes, and drink 2 oz. of water every 15-20 minutes! I will try this on my next long run. Fueling is what killed me next time so I need to do better with this.

I’ll end this with some humor 😉

Are you training for a half marathon or marathon this fall? How is your training going? Tell me, I’d love to hear about it!

 

Follow Reach Your Peak:

3 Responses to “Halfway Through Marathon Training”

  1. Nora September 5, 2013 at 9:53 pm #

    I’ve never heard of this method and it’s fascinating! I googled it and read an article about a girl it worked for. Sounds like you tire during your training and are more prepared for the fatigue of the race itself. I’m running a half in late October using a Hal Higdon plan. So far so good.

    • reach-yourpeak September 8, 2013 at 9:02 pm #

      Awesome, keep it up and let me know how your half goes! I’m debating running one before the marathon. so far the plan is working really well and I have never felt better…we’ll see how it goes on race day!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Picking up the Pace – Marathon Training | Mike Love's Tri Blog - September 11, 2013

    […] Halfway Through Marathon Training (reach-yourpeak.com) […]

Leave a Reply

