That Time I Got Advice From Lauren Fleshman and Amby Burfoot

29 Aug

Thanks to Runner’s World, I got to ask from pro runners for their advice and input…and I’m glad I did! I didn’t think they’d respond to my questions since a million other people were submitting questions but I got lucky 🙂

Here’s what I asked along with their response:

Screen shot 2013-08-29 at 2.16.56 PM

I have been wondering this for a while (how elites strength train), especially because it is so hard for me to balance both. I had asked Kara Goucher this once at a meet and greet, and she also told me that they mainly focus on core. Time to start doing more abs! I know Adriana has posted about Myrtle exercises before, and I need to get on that.

Screen shot 2013-08-29 at 2.17.53 PM

I wanted to get input from someone about the Hansons Marathon Method plan that I have been following. I know others who are marathon training do their long runs with some miles at marathon pace, however the Hansons have long runs at easy pace…though we do speed work and tempo runs during the week too. Thanks to Amby for easing my nervousness a bit!

I’m mainly nervous about maintaining my goal pace for 26.2 miles. I don’t get how doing easy runs mainly but tempo runs at goal pace (but only up to 10 miles) will help us keep that pace…I mean I know it will, just like Amby says, it all comes together, but I’m just nervous! I shouldn’t be, since I have completed a marathon before, but I just really want to actually do well. I remember during half marathon training, I was able to keep my goal pace during segments of my long runs…I was so positive I’d be able to do that in the race…but it didn’t end up happening.

Anyways, I wanted to share these tips and advice with you all in case you can benefit from it as well!

How do you mentally prepare for a long race? How do you erase your doubts?

 

Follow Reach Your Peak:

 

2 Responses to “That Time I Got Advice From Lauren Fleshman and Amby Burfoot”

  1. Jim Hartman August 30, 2013 at 7:56 am #

    Thank you for sharing Patty ! This is good information and I agree with your thoughts. How will we be able to keep goal pace for 26.2 ? However, I am trying not to think too much about it and just make sure I do my best with the training and hope for the best.

Leave a Reply

