Week 8 of NYC Marathon Training

26 Aug

Last week was a hard week…but it’s done! Cannot believe we are halfway through training now…

Here’s a recap of last week:

Monday:

Track workout. 1 mile warm up, 6×800 meters with 400 meter recovery jog, 1 mile cool down.

Actually felt pretty good. I was nervous about the fact that it was 800 meters but I got the pace down (5k pace) for each set.

Tuesday:

off

Wednesday:

Tempo run. 1 mile warm up, 5 miles at goal marathon pace (10:18), 1 mile cooldown.

My mom and I have been nailing our tempo runs lately, BUT this was tough. We decided to run on a hilly route to practice more hills…and the last mile was this quarter mile steep climb that killed my pace. Clearly, we need to be doing this more often!

Thursday:

Was supposed to do 5 miles…but mother nature happened. Did 30 minutes of cross training.

Friday:

Needed to do 6 miles but only did 5. My shins were killing. I almost stopped at 3 miles but said, no, I will finish at least 5. Glad I did.

Saturday:

11 miles.

How is it that you can have a horrible run one day, then have a great run the next? While my shins still hurt, we kept a great, easy pace and only stopped a few times to fuel. We even finished the last mile faster than goal marathon pace! We discovered another new trail in my area and it was the perfect place to run:

And I had the best post-run fuel:

Sunday:

Easy 6 mile recovery run. It was slow…but I’m ok with that 🙂

Questions that I need help with!!!

1) I sweat…a lot. But I hydrate and drink water every 2 miles on long runs. But towards the end my mouth is still SO dry and I feel like chugging water. This is what ruined my marathon experience in 2011. Has anyone else experienced this and can help?!

2) How much water do you drink on a long run? Do you stop and walk while you take a gel and drink water? Because I cannot keep running or I will choke! Tips?

Follow Reach Your Peak:

3 Responses to “Week 8 of NYC Marathon Training”

  1. Sue August 26, 2013 at 1:53 pm #

    I run with a Camelbak that carries 50 oz of water and I add Nuun tabs to it because I sweat like crazy as well. I use Honey Stinger chews and usually just chew and run because my body tends to stiffen up if I stop.

  2. Jim Hartman August 30, 2013 at 8:04 am #

    I am the same way after long runs where I feel really thirsty but I don’t want drink too much during the run because then I feel bloated and it’s sloshing around in my stomach. So I think it’s important to make sure you hydrate well during the week in the days leading up to the long run.

    On your second question, I read somewhere that when you stop for fuel/water you should walk the whole time until you are done and take your time. Don’t gulp or woof down whatever you are consuming. I always see all the runners grabbing water or gels and running with it. Spilling it, crashing into people, choking cause they are also trying to breathe. It’s better to grab your water, walk over to the side, and just walk taking sips until you are done.

    • reach-yourpeak September 2, 2013 at 1:41 pm #

      I agree! I’d rather walk than be rushed and probably choke as well. You lose a few seconds or maybe a minute but oh well.

Leave a Reply

