Week 7 of NYC Marathon Training

19 Aug

Another week down. Didn’t have a perfect week of training (missed one day), but got close! Here’s last week’s recap:

Monday:

Track workout. 1 mile warm up, 8×600 meters with 400 meter jog, 1 mile cooldown.

I followed the paces prescribed in Hansons Marathon Method but couldn’t hit them for all 8. I was supposed to do 600 meters in 3:06 but the last two were 3:10ish. Probably need to slow it down for the next track workout because you aren’t supposed to walk during the recovery jog. Oops.

Tuesday:

Off

Wednesday:

Tempo run. 1 mile warm up, 5 miles at goal marathon pace, 1 mile cooldown.

So my goal pace is 10:18. I’d love to run a 4:30 marathon considering my last one was in 5:20 due to major bonking. Therefore, 5 miles tempo means 5 miles at 10:18. Not bad at all. Tried to stay within that but went a bit faster…is that bad? I also think mile 4 got all screwed up due to a phone call I got (I use RunKeeper on my phone).

Thursday:

Easy 5 recovery miles.

I had to switch around a few days this week due to going to Atlantic City on Saturday. I was supposed to do 4 on Thursday but ended up doing 5 instead so I’d only have to wake up and do 4 miles before heading to AC on Saturday.

Friday:

10 miles! Our first double digit run! We felt pretty good…need to work on fueling though, I’m still clueless with how I can fuel better. Here is us post run-

I actually felt so good afterwards. No stiff legs. No shin pain. Nothing! I think my body is getting used to running longer miles finally 🙂

Saturday:

Easy 4 recovery miles.

Ok so that day I was feeling the tiredness in my legs. We ran sloooowww, and walked the last mile home. I really just knew my legs needed to take it easy.

Sunday:

Was supposed to do 4 miles but being that I was out the night before and didn’t sleep until 4:30 am, my body just wanted to lay in bed the next day 😉 AC was fun though! Minus the fact that I lost my shoes, but that’s a whole other story 😉

I can’t believe we are almost halfway through training. I don’t know how I feel about it. Hansons Marathon Method has us only running up to 16 miles, though a couple of times. I really hope that this works. I do not want to feel miserable during the race again.

How do you fuel for long runs? Gels? Gatorade? Do you get a sloshy feeling in your stomach if you drink too much? I really need to figure this all out!

Follow Reach Your Peak:

5 Responses to “Week 7 of NYC Marathon Training”

  1. HollieisFueledByLOLZ August 19, 2013 at 2:05 pm #

    I just found your blog and it’s always great to see other people training for new people training too. My rest days normally come from lack of sleep as well. My stomach really sloshes around when I take Gatorade…I’ve never had any problems with gels but I’m still working on that. Have a great training cycle!

    • reach-yourpeak August 21, 2013 at 2:03 pm #

      Thanks! The stomach sloshing is the worst 😦

  2. Jim Hartman August 20, 2013 at 11:12 am #

    I’m trying to use the Gatorade Endurance formulas since that is supposed to be what they use on the marathon course. I’m happy Stridebox threw some in their last shipment 🙂
    So usually for long runs I have a slice of whole wheat bread with Skippy peanut butter with honey (they make that now !) Some Body Armour engery drink which I really like, it’s my new favorite and I got a really good deal on Amazon ($20 for 24 bottles!). I’ll also have a pack of the Clif Shot Bloks and I’ll take a honey stinger bar with me to have halfway through my run. I hide a bottle of Gatorade along my route to grab on my way back around 30 minutes into my run. Then I just sip a little as my body feels like it needs to.
    I know it doesn’t sound like I eat a lot before my run but I don’t like to run with too much in my stomach , especially since I run early in the morning. I also try not to drink too much along the run or I will get that sloshy feeling in my stomach as you mentioned. Just listen to your body..

    • reach-yourpeak August 21, 2013 at 2:03 pm #

      Maybe I wll try the shot bloks I have heard good things. I try not to drink too much, but I always get SO parched and thirsty no matter what. I don’t know what to do!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. FULL WEEK IN | Mike Love's Tri Blog - August 24, 2013

    […] Week 7 of NYC Marathon Training (reach-yourpeak.com) […]

Leave a Reply

