Week 3 of NYC Marathon Training

22 Jul

Can’t believe week 3 has come and gone! My mom and I completed 21 miles this week, which is crazy because at the height of our Brooklyn Half training we were at a high of 23-25 miles per week. So we will definitely be doing a lot more running, clearly, for this marathon cycle.

I just really hope my shins cooperate and allow me to run more than I have in the past!

Which is why I have been wearing PRO Compression socks on my runs, and my 110% Compression socks for recovery and during sleep.

I have a little bit of shin pain sometimes, especially after today’s 4 miler, they were really throbbing. But I will try to stretch and be diligent with the exercises I need to do. Here’s what we did this week:

Monday:

Off

Tuesday:

4 miles. We decided to do this on the treadmill because it was feeling like over 100 degrees outside. I hate treadmill running but in order to make it go by faster I like doing hill intervals, like this.

Wednesday:

Off

Thursday:

5 miles. We did this outside but on shaded back roads. My sister was house sitting, so we had a pool we could cool off in. We mapped out 2.5 miles and did an out and back. Jumping in a pool post-run is awesome!

Friday:

4 miles

Saturday:

4 miles (before leaving for South Carolina!)

Sunday:

4 miles on an out and back around where we are staying in Myrtle Beach. I loved running in temperature that is a bit cooler and with less humidity…and a nice ocean breeze! I averaged 1 minute per mile faster than I have been usually in the crazy heat. But my shins were hurting so thank goodness I have an off day today. I found a golf course and ran about a half mile on this…reminded me of the good ol’ cross country days! Will have to go back and run here again.

For the rest of the week, I will be on vacation in Myrtle Beach, so I apologize for the lack of posts or tweets this week, but I have some guest posts coming up hopefully 🙂

Time to enjoy the beach and relax!

Do you make sure to get your training in on vacation? What’s your favorite way to relax?

Follow Reach Your Peak:

Leave a Reply

