Week 2 of NYC Marathon Training

15 Jul

Week 2 is in the books! Along with increased mileage (for how little I have been running) is a little shin soreness but I have been wearing my compression socks and icing so hopefully that takes care of that!

Last week, my mom and I did 15 miles total. It was a good week which also included 2 strength training days. Still pretty easy runs (3-4 miles) so I’m A-Okay with that 🙂

We were down at the beach yesterday and decided to do our run down there as opposed to around our town. I wanted a change of scenery and figured the breeze from the water would at least cool us down a LITTLE bit (it was 90-ish and humid).

I liked running along the boardwalk and taking in the scenes along the beach. If I lived down the shore, I swear I’d run every day because I bet it is so relaxing and peaceful!

Our other runs last week were pretty routine. I’m dreading this week in terms of running because it will be record-breaking heat…noooooo. I guess I will either have to run early in the AM or run indoors (the worst).

Next week, I will be on vacation in South Carolina, but plan on getting all of my runs in regardless. I figure, I can wake up early to run since I can nap on the beach later in the day 😉

I can’t believe we will already be up to 21 miles in Week 3 of training! But I’m ready to tackle this plan and kill it in NYC.

Do you schedule your runs when you go on vacation? Or do you take a break from it all?

I will get my runs in but I can’t promise anything about not splurging on food and drinks 😉

 

Follow Reach Your Peak:

4 Responses to “Week 2 of NYC Marathon Training”

  1. Ani D July 15, 2013 at 3:43 pm #

    I recently went on vacation as well and was a little worried about getting my runs in, but I was still able to maintain 20-25 mile weeks (which was perfect ate time!). I have a few tips about eating well on vacation if you are interested [http://milesforthought.wordpress.com/2013/07/07/easy-living-and-how-to-eat-healthy-on-vacation/]

  2. Shawn July 16, 2013 at 7:58 am #

    I hate running indoors too.I usually just wake up earlier or deal with the heat and humidity. On vacation, I try to run when I can, I don’t really bother scheduling runs. Hope all is well with the rest of your marathon training.

    • reach-yourpeak July 21, 2013 at 9:43 pm #

      Thanks! I have been trying to wake up earlier too to deal with the heat…I’m usually not a morning person, but running in the AM hasn’t been so bad!

Leave a Reply

