Why I Needed A Break From Running

11 Jul

I love running. I do. But after the Brooklyn Half Marathon, I needed a break from running.

Towards the end of half-marathon training, I wasn’t looking forward to runs anymore. It was more of a task than fun, and that’s how I knew. I wanted the half to be over so I could take a break and go back to lifting. I knew I needed to start marathon training towards the end of July…and I could have and probably should have kept running a little bit to keep my base, but I just needed to get away from it.

I love running and I want to feel excited for runs, and I just wasn’t there anymore. So I took a month and a half off and did other things, like cardio/strength workouts that focused on different forms of cardio, like burpees (hate). I loved seeing my improvement in lifting and reps.

Then, once I picked out my half marathon training plan, I started getting excited about running again…and all of a sudden, I couldn’t wait for training to start again!

I’m only in week 2 of training but I am excited for each run so far. My goal is to PR at the New York City Marathon, so that will fuel my runs as well.

I definitely needed that time away from running to feel this excitement again. Because, honestly, after the half I was like ugh I have to start MARATHON training now?!?

Isn’t it funny how it almost sounds like a relationship? 😉

Marathon Training

Speaking of marathon training. I started my day off with an easy 3 mile run today. Well, it was certainly at an easy pace (slow) but it did not feel easy considering it was 80% humidity. WHYYYY??? Can this go away anytime soon? I had to stop and walk a few times because I just felt so out of breath, but I felt good finishing the run. I also ran in my Pro Compression socks for the first time…not bad! And I love this color…and I swear I didn’t mean to match my outfit 🙂

Then I made myself a nice breakfast…egg white scramble with mushrooms topped with salsa, and an apple with almond butter. Yum!

This is the first week I will be running Thursday-Sunday! Hopefully it goes well and my body adjusts to running in the heat.

Have you ever needed a break from running? Or any sport? Or can you run all year round?

 

Follow Reach Your Peak:

4 Responses to “Why I Needed A Break From Running”

  1. leanne402 July 11, 2013 at 11:16 am #

    I’ve basically had a break of two weeks during half marathon training. Mainly to combat hangovers 😉

    • reach-yourpeak July 21, 2013 at 9:45 pm #

      lol! I’ve read bloggers who still wake up to run even after being hungover/drinking the night before…I could never do that! #ilovesleep

  2. Lisa Eirene (@LisaEirene) July 11, 2013 at 5:55 pm #

    When I’m not injured (like I currently am) I go by the seasons. I tend to lift weights and do the gym stuff in the winter/spring then spring/summer/fall I start biking to work and doing long rides on the weekends, hiking, running, etc. Sometimes winter is a nice break from all of that hard stuff!

    • reach-yourpeak July 21, 2013 at 9:44 pm #

      I agree! I like taking a break in winter from running and focusing on other things.

Leave a Reply

