Week 1 of NYC Marathon Training

5 Jul

Week 1 is done! It was a really easy week, with only 10 total miles of running. But hey, I’m ok with getting back into it slowly.

Monday:

My mom and I got up and ran 3 miles. It started to rain on us but it felt good because it was so hot and humid! I was soaked after but it felt good to get this run in. I haven’t ran 3 miles in over a month!

In the afternoon we lifted. We had a back and biceps workout on deck. It was tough but it felt good to lift heavy again. I really want to be able to do a few unassisted pullups again!

Tuesday: Fitness Blender video (HIIT + abs)

Wednesday:

We lifted in the morning (legs and shoulders) which actually felt great. I have never lifted in the morning before but I definitely like it better since there was no one in the weights section! Afterwards, we stretched and I foam rolled with this ridiculous thing:

In the afternoon, we went for a 4 mile run. It was HOT and SO HUMID. We stopped halfway at this local store where the owner was kind enough to give us ice cold water bottles. I stuck it in the back of my sports bra for the rest of the run which also helped cool me down. I honestly can’t believe we could run 4 miles no problem after almost 2 months off from running. Isn’t the body an amazing thing?

Thursday: Rest

Friday (today): 3 mile run planned + lifting (chest and triceps day). It’s possible the run may be moved to tomorrow morning because it is currently “feeling like” 92.

Saturday: Off because I will be in Atlantic City with friends…so excited!!

Sunday: Off because, let’s be real we will probably be going to sleep reaaaalllyy late… πŸ˜‰

This week, I also started following more of the Tone It Up Diet Plan. I need more of a meal plan to stay accountable and not be like, “I don’t know what to eat…I’m hungry…whatever, I’ll make something easy, aka pasta.” So far so good! Here are some meals I have eaten this week which you may have seen on my Instagram:

Breakfast: scrambled egg whites with spinach, mushrooms and black beans

Lunch: chicken, chicken sausage, and “creamy cucumber salad” which was cucumbers, spices and greek yogurt. Surprisingly good!

I’m excited to try more meals and continue eating healthy, at least until my vacation mid-July!

Do you need a meal plan outlined or do you fly by the seat of your pants when it comes to cooking?

Follow Reach Your Peak:

Leave a Reply

