Day 1 of NYC Marathon Training!

1 Jul

Officially started training today! On the schedule today was an easy 3 mile run. My mom and I decided to try running in the mornings so we can lift in the evenings when we need to. And because it’s just less hot and humid.

Well, my alarm went off at 7 am and I was SO close to just snoozing until I had to get up. I even thought, well I COULD do the run later after work. But then I felt lazy and also thought of Lolo Jones’ documentary on Netflix, and this video of pro runner Brenda Martinez I watched on Flotrack, and I just got up. Watch that doc or watch Flotrack’s workout videos when you need running motivation!

We headed out and it was cloudy but pretty humid. It was 78 when we left and probably 80-90% humidity. 1 mile in it started drizzling, and then that just turned into pouring rain. It actually felt good though because I was sweating a ton! I saw this quote on Cori’s (Olive to Run) Instagram today and thought it fit perfectly:

I’m ok with running in the rain as long as my shoes don’t get sopping…and I also hate the water going into my eyes because I wear contacts. Anyone else HATE contacts with a passion like me? But running in the rain is usually very peaceful, I love hearing the raindrops.

Anyway, for not having run in over a month, I felt great and we finished 3 miles no problem. I also wore my 110% Compression Socks to test them out on my run. You may remember I posted a picture of me wearing them after my half with the ice sleeve too (amazing)…well, I wanted to try them out running as well too before I posted a blog review for you all.

Another thing I’m starting today is the Tone It Up Diet Plan. It’s not really a diet plan but more of just eating healthy and clean foods which I know already. But I just need a meal plan and recipe ideas to hold me accountable.

Overall, a good Monday so far! Later I will be lifting upper body and maybe ending the session with 4-5 hill sprints 🙂

Oh and also, I got a GoPro camera!! I’m so excited to make some cool videos.

My mom and I split it in order to have a good video camera for the marathon. My brother’s friend was selling it so it was good timing. Here’s the video I made from the 2011 marathon, and as you can see, it’s really shaky. I’m excited to try this!

Has anyone used a GoPro before? What kind of videos have you made? Feel free to share in the comments!

 

Follow Reach Your Peak:

One Response to “Day 1 of NYC Marathon Training!”

  1. senelslant July 1, 2013 at 1:05 pm #

    Best of luck with your training. BTW, that Buffalo Chicken Meatloaf looks fantastic! Will have to try it soon.

Leave a Reply

