Cardio + Strength Workouts

25 Jun

For the past three weeks, I have been challenging myself with cardio/strength workouts in place of running. I needed a break from running before starting marathon training next week.

I got inspiration from my friend Courtney, who does small group training every week. I have gone a few times and those workouts are hardcore!

I made three different workouts that I would do for three weeks, and track my progress. I did 2-3 sets of each exercise for 1 minute and counted how many reps I could do with good form. It was a total body workout with cardio worked in to really get my heart rate soaring.

Here’s an example of the workout I did on Mondays, and finished up yesterday. Only two more workouts to go this week then it’s back to running! As you can see, I did progress! Though other workouts have more progress, but I will post a wrap-up at the end of the week.

I also increased my weight for this past week which is why some numbers are a bit lower, but they are still close to my beginning numbers! After each workout, I was literally dripping in sweat. Loved it! Sad I will have to cut back on these once training starts.

Here is week 1 and week 2:

 

And here are yesterday’s results (week 3):

IMG_0784

I want to do a workout video with one of these workouts because those reverse lunge jumps are killer, along with other moves I’ve done as well!

Have you ever done HIIT/crossfit/cardio&strength type workouts? Do you like that or lifting heavy better?

 

Follow Reach Your Peak:

2 Responses to “Cardio + Strength Workouts”

  1. slowrunnersexcursion June 26, 2013 at 8:57 am #

    Great article, Patty! I think it would be interesting to see the reverse lunges and push-up w/ shoulder tap.

    As for the strength, I personally enjoy HIIT/CrossFit/Cardio&Strength type workouts! They get the heart pumping while burning fat and getting toned quickly. I am typically in much better shape when doing these types of routines rather than the individual strength session and then another session of cardio.

    Good luck training for the upcoming marathon! Happy Training 🙂

    • reach-yourpeak June 26, 2013 at 1:29 pm #

      I will definitely make some how-to videos…thanks for the well wishes!

Leave a Reply

