SO SORE

31 May

So this week, as I mentioned, I’m getting back into lifting. Considering I haven’t done serious lifting in probably two months, I am SO SORE RIGHT NOW.

Mainly my upper body, like my elbow crease area (from pullups) and my shoulders. Here’s what I did so far this week:

Monday: Upper body

Pullups

Pushups

One arm dumbbell rows

Shoulder L-raises

Lat pulldown

Shoulder external rotation (45 degrees)

4 hill sprints at 8.0 incline

Tuesday: Lower body

Reverse lunges

Back extensions (focusing on hamstrings and glutes)

Barbell squats

Dumbbell deadlifts

Dumbbell step-ups

Single leg deadlifts

Bicep curls

Wednesday: Off…and relaxing on the beach 🙂

Today, I will be doing upper body again along with some running. I need to try to maintain my running up so I don’t lose my running fitness, but at the same time I really want to gain some strength and muscle (and get a bit leaner) before marathon training starts again. I plan on starting either June 10 or June 17…I can’t decide if I should to a 20 week plan or do less.

For those of you who may not know, my mom and I will be running the ING New York City Marathon in November! It will be our second time doing this race, and we are running it for Team DetermiNation of the American Cancer Society. I have set up a t-shirt shop online where all proceeds go to our charity fundraising, so please check it out! They are all fitness related shirts 🙂

Anyway…hope this soreness subsides a bit before tomorrow!

Do you get sore easily? How about delayed onset muscle soreness? I always get sore the second day after exercise!

 

Follow Reach Your Peak:

 

Leave a Reply

