Getting Back Into Lifting

28 May

I took last week off from exercise in general after the Brooklyn Half Marathon. Yes, I could have done spin or easy cross training but I really just needed a physical and mental break from running/exercise. I just wanted to relax for a bit before getting back into lifting, and in a few weeks, marathon training. Have you ever needed a break?

Definitely got lots of sleep last week 🙂

But I’m back now and ready as ever to get back into heavy lifting! I want to use the 3-4 weeks I have before marathon training to re-focus on building muscle and strength (and getting  a bit leaner), before I have to focus back on running and put lifting on the backburner.

I’m debating on whether to do upper and lower body splits, which has really helped me build strength in the past…or doing full body workouts…decisions decisions! For now, I think I’ll do upper/lower, and include some HIIT like hill sprints on upper body days. Here’s what I plan on doing (though this week I’m starting on Tuesday since the gym was closed for Memorial Day):

Monday: Upper body + hill sprints or HIIT video

Tuesday: Lower body (+ biceps. I read a study that said that doing biceps after legs actually helps them grow and get stronger faster than doing them at the end of an upper body day. Tried it and helped me reach my unassisted pullup goal!)

Wednesday: Run or spin

Thursday: Upper body + hill sprints or HIIT video

Friday: Lower body + biceps/triceps

Saturday: Run, spin, bodypump or HIIT video

Sunday: Rest

I am so looking forward to this! After months of running and training for a half marathon, I’m excited to be lifting, trying new classes, and doing HIIT videos I have found recently, like those on Fitness Blender, or Insanity videos. I am a firm believer in switching things up when you get bored, so I’m really excited for this. I just need a change before marathon training starts and takes over my life :-p

Have you needed to take a break from running, spinning, lifting, etc? What did you replace it with?

 

Follow Reach Your Peak:

One Response to “Getting Back Into Lifting”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. SO SORE | - May 31, 2013

    […] this week, as I mentioned, I’m getting back into lifting. Considering I haven’t done serious lifting in probably […]

Leave a Reply

