The Past Week

21 May

As I have mentioned a few times…the past week was super crazy! It was full of events and I was exhausted by the end of it but all were things I wanted to do. I figured I’d write a quick recap of what I’ve been up to! Don’t worry, my Brooklyn Half Marathon race recap is coming soon πŸ˜‰

So, on Monday, my dad and I headed into NYC to visit the offices of Likeable Media and meet with the CEO and Founder, Dave Kerpen. I found out about Likeable Media at Social Media Week back in February. After that, I read Dave Kerpen’s book and decided to tweet at him to see if I could meet him for an informational interview. He replied! I wasn’t expecting that at all. My dad and I both met with him and asked for his insight into building our social media marketing business. He was so helpful, nice and funny! Plus, he also gave me a copy of his new book to read. It was a very informative meeting that really motivated me to keep moving forward with my business.

My dad with one of the freebies we got

On Tuesday, my sister and I headed up to NY again with one of my supervisors to the Westchester Digital Summit. We had no idea what to expect because it was so new, but the keynote speaker was Gary Vaynerchuk who is one of my entrepreneurial idols. We got to network a bit, attend some great media related sessions, but the best part was definitely Gary’s speech at the end of the day. If you’re into social media at all, or own a business and want to learn more about social media I highly suggest you check out his speeches. He’s hilarious and totally on point with where we are at in the digital world currently.

AND, I actually got to meet him and ask him for 1 piece of advice he would give me as I start to build my business!

Me and my sis

Okay…THEN on Thursday (sorry, this post may get long haha), my sister and I headed into NYC again to check out the Small Business Expo (waste of time) and go pick up my bib number for the Brooklyn Half Marathon. I won’t go into much detail here as there really isn’t any. The pre-race party area was pretty cool, but I was exhausted and didn’t feel like standing around to check everything out.

On Friday, I had a reception that Rutgers Recreation put on for the graduating seniors. It was a really nice event with catered food, and we were giving stolls to wear on graduation day. I have worked with a great group of students this past year and am sad that it has come to an end, but I am excited for all of the seniors who are graduating! They will certainly be missed.

My marketing team.

Saturday was the Brooklyn Half!! I have been building up to this since the end of January. It wasn’t my best race, but I’ll take it. That recap post is coming soon! Waking up at 4 am was not fun!

Lastly, Sunday was my graduation day! I received my Master of Education in College Student Affairs. I can’t believe another two years has gone by. It was a rainy day, but a great one. I loved having my family and boyfriend there supporting me and feeling how proud they were of me. Here are some pics from that day!

Dan and me

Me and my sis

Decided to get crafty with my hat

I’d post one of my whole family but it’s on my mom’s phone and I’m currently too lazy to go ask her to send it to me :-p

Overall, it was a great and eventful week! I am blessed to have so many people standing behind me and supporting me through me endeavors. I can’t wait to see what the future holds.

I also am happy I have a bit of a running break now and can get back to some heavy lifting πŸ™‚

Do you take running breaks after big races? Or do you train all year?

Follow Reach Your Peak:

2 Responses to “The Past Week”

  1. Andrea @Pencils and Pancakes May 21, 2013 at 11:38 am #

    What a busy week! Looks like you’re getting started right away on your business!! Love your ombrΓ© highlights

Leave a Reply

