Half-Marathon Training Update

9 May

So yesterday I had a long-ish run as I have begun my taper this week before the Brooklyn Half Marathon on May 18.

It was…ok. My mom and I got it done but it was a struggle. First of all, it was super humid. Second of all, my shins were both really hurting with each step. She didn’t feel great either and just wasn’t the best day for either of us.

We knew as soon as we started it would be hard. Our breathing as heavier because of the humidity, and after 1 mile I knew I’d have to stop and stretch my calves/Achilles a few times because of my shins. I just keep thinking to myself, “It’s only 7 miles. I can hang on for 5…then I just need to add on 2 more miles.”

We did a hilly route to prepare for the Prospect Park hills of Brooklyn…although most of our runs are hilly anyway because I live in a hilly area. Random question but does anyone feel like running on rolling hills is actually easier than running on flat ground? No? Just me? I love hills!

Anyway, we did stop a few times to walk and catch our break…and sure it was slower than usual but we felt great once we were done. It was good to finish and know you didn’t quit even though you wanted to at various points. We even ran the last mile faster than the rest.

Shins are definitely sore today so I need to ice them once I am home. I even wore my compression sleeves to work.

Pleeeeaaaassseeeee let my shin pain go away before the half marathon.

Is anyone else running the Brooklyn Half Marathon? Have you done it before?

Follow Reach Your Peak:

3 Responses to “Half-Marathon Training Update”

  1. seefranrun May 9, 2013 at 11:25 am #

    I constantly have shin pain too! Is it the muscle? Have you tried rolling out the shin and calves/Achilles with a rolling stick? I usually have to because mine will seize up and sometimes I can’t even run through the pain… it is one of the most frustrating things I have experienced!

  2. Beth @ Read Hard Run Harder May 9, 2013 at 11:58 am #

    Whoo I know shin pain. It really is just my right shin. I guess my right calf is tighter than my left…who knows. I find that using a foam roller every night…no matter if I run that day or not, really helps. Although it is crazy painful 😦 You sound like you are taking care of yourself with ice and compression. Trust your taper…your legs (and shins) will feel great for the half.

  3. leaner by the lake May 10, 2013 at 1:03 am #

    I cannot wait for the day that I enjoy running hills. Let’s pray that it comes. 🙂 Chicago is super flat so I’m really used to even terrain. This weekend, though, I’m running at our family’s lake house where there’s a lot of trail running and hills. Looking forward to mixing it up and taking on a challenge!

    Here’s to hoping your shin pain goes away!

Leave a Reply

