My Plans For The Future

30 Apr

Ahhh…the future. I’ve been thinking a lot about my post-graduation plans for the past couple of months, and I’ve made a few decisions that I’m really excited about!

So you all know my future plans in terms of upcoming races…goals…etc. but I wanted to share what I think life has in store for me next. My graduation is May 19 from the Rutgers Graduate School of Education (eek!). I will graduate with a Master’s degree and a focus on College Student Affairs. Before this semester, I figured I’d be job searching and looking for a job at a university. Then I found my passion.

I have become immersed in social media marketing. Through one of my jobs at Rutgers, I took a trip to a media company in NYC over the summer, and have worked as a social media marketing assistant in various departments the past few years. I seriously love what I do. Then, I went to Social Media Week in February with my dad, and that’s where we starting creating this idea. This idea that we should start our own social media marketing business.

At first I was iffy. But this is what I love doing, and visiting places like Likeable Media in NYC solidified that. I want to create my own business. We named our company SOCIALSTORM MEDIA, and so far have a handful of clients that are local businesses! We will help brands and businesses market themselves on social media creatively, and engage with their fanbase in a creative manner.

Because of my limited time to devote to this because of school, I decided to not job search, and instead focus 110% of my efforts on this business over the summer. I will still be working part-time at Rutgers as I try to grow.

I really think this is what I need to do, and things have been progressing rather quickly so I’m taking it as a sign! I’m really happy with where I am going with this…plus without a full-time job this summer, I’ll be able to do a little traveling 🙂

Feel free to check out our SOCIALSTORM MEDIA Facebook and Twitter pages, and if you’re interested in social media news and updates please “like” or “follow” me. AND if you’re a small business who needs help with social media marketing, please feel free to contact me!

I’m really excited for what the future holds…and I can’t believe that graduation is in 19 days! My undergrad graduation feels like it just happened yesterday:

Have you ever taken a risk to follow your dream or passion?

Follow Reach Your Peak:

15 Responses to “My Plans For The Future”

  1. Anthony Moore April 30, 2013 at 1:24 pm #

    Awesome stuff Patty, congrats!

  2. Tasha April 30, 2013 at 4:52 pm #

    Wow! I’m so proud of you Patty! It does seem like just yesterday you were graduating undergrad and telling me you didn’t know what you wanted to do…keep up the good work!

  3. peachylau April 30, 2013 at 5:28 pm #

    Fantastic. I am completing my PhD and want to go to medical school after so I am all for following your dreams!

  4. Andrea @Pencils and Pancakes April 30, 2013 at 7:14 pm #

    Omg that’s awesome! I can’t stress enough to follow your passion and take chances or you will be stuck in a job you hate and that sucks! I mean I love my job what are you talking about……………..

    • reach-yourpeak May 1, 2013 at 10:21 am #

      Your comment made me laugh…I’m sorry to hear that! But hopefully following my passions ends up working out otherwise I will have to find a real job haha

  5. seethisgirlrun May 13, 2013 at 7:54 pm #

    Woohoo! You go girl!
    I’m totally taking a leap of faith at the end of the summer when I quit my perfectly good job in search of something I really love and am passionate about. Hope it goes well! Best of luck to you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Motivational Monday! | - May 13, 2013

    […] class and no more internships. I’m working at school over the summer anyway, while trying to launch my business, but it will be nice to have this week […]

  2. The Past Week | - May 21, 2013

    […] So, on Monday, my dad and I headed into NYC to visit the offices of Likeable Media and meet with the CEO and Founder, Dave Kerpen. I found out about Likeable Media at Social Media Week back in February. After that, I read Dave Kerpen’s book and decided to tweet at him to see if I could meet him for an informational interview. He replied! I wasn’t expecting that at all. My dad and I both met with him and asked for his insight into building our social media marketing business. He was so helpful, nice and funny! Plus, he also gave me a copy of his new book to read. It was a very informative meeting that really motivated me to keep moving forward with my business. […]

  3. Motivational Monday! | - December 2, 2013

    […] motivational quote inspired me this weekend. As you know, I launched my own social media consulting business after grad school. I’ve been working part-time while trying to get more clients. It’s […]

  4. 2014 Goals + My December Favorites | - December 31, 2013

    […] about! While I don’t have a full-time job, I am doing something I’m excited about. I started my own social media marketing business, and am working with several clients and hoping to grow in […]

  5. Motivational Monday! | - February 3, 2014

    […] Today’s quote is from Kim Kaupe, who is the founder of Zinepak. ZinePak creates custom interactive publications for targeted superfans of music, movies, sports, events, and brands. I had the pleasure of meeting with her a month or so ago, and she and her co-founder really motivated me to keep working at my dream of creating my own business […]

  6. Comparing Yourself To Others | - February 27, 2014

    […] me, I know I have taken a chance in starting my own business, and I know that for now I won’t have the same abilities as some of my friends (like going on […]

Leave a Reply

