Run as One 4M Race Recap

29 Apr

On Sunday, I ran the NYRR Run as One 4 Miler in Central Park. The goal was to do it in half marathon goal pace, so around 9:00 minutes per mile. I ended up averaging 8:50-ish per mile!! It was challenging BUT more like “comfortably hard,” instead of really hard.

Pre-race

NYRR has my average pace at 9:05 per mile, but my Runkeeper app (and my mom’s) said we ran 4.2 miles and at a faster pace. I figured it was the tangents, etc. but a fellow runner tweeted at me that he had the same issue with his Nike app and his Garmin, and that others were commenting on this issue as well. They had new B-tags for this race so maybe that was the issue? Either way, I’m going with my Runkeeper time!

My mom and I finished together and felt really strong overall. We probably could have kept running! We ended up doing a 1 mile cooldown in the park before heading out. My brother and dad came to support us and take pictures as well =)

Overall, it was a great day to run! Beautiful weather and I felt awesome. The hills didn’t really phase me either, I really felt like I was powering through them. Hopefully my successful long run, and this great race bodes well for May 18!

Did you race this weekend?

Follow Reach Your Peak:

4 Responses to “Run as One 4M Race Recap”

  1. Catherine April 29, 2013 at 3:24 pm #

    Weldone on you’re run and your pace.Good to see your last mile being the fastest! I always start to fast and then run out of steam at the end! What are your running goals this year?

  2. leaner by the lake April 30, 2013 at 1:05 pm #

    So happy to have found your blog today! I’m just getting into distance and competitive running and am looking forward to following along with your adventures for inspiration on my own journey. Congrats on your pace! That’s incredible! I’m still rocking an 11 minute mile but I know that with time and hard work it will get better! Patience and practice:)

    In case you’re so inclined, I just wrote about my relationship with exercise and running here: http://leanerbythelake.com/pounding-the-pavement/

    All the best!
    Eileen
    http://www.leanerbythelake.com

    • reach-yourpeak April 30, 2013 at 1:44 pm #

      I will check it out thanks! Your pace will definitely get better. When I started half marathon training my average pace was 11-11:30. Keep up the good work!

      • leaner by the lake April 30, 2013 at 2:01 pm #

        Ahhh that makes me feel so much better! Thank you! So much to work towards, but that’s part of the fun!

Leave a Reply

