Miles for Matheny 5K Recap

22 Apr

Yesterday, I started the day off by going to the Rutgers Unite Half Marathon in the morning. My half marathon training group was running and I wanted to go support them. It was great being a spectator for once and taking the race in!

It was on the chillier side but a great day for racing all around. I left early then headed back home to start warming up for my 5K which was at noon. My mom and I did some dynamic warm up drills, and jogged the 1 mile to the park where the starting line was. It’s so convenient having a 5K right in your town!

The course has 2 major hills and a few small ones, so it’s tough. I finished in 27:26, which isn’t my best and I really wanted to PR but you can’t always get your best time! Overall, I felt really strong and my pacing was even, so I am happy with that. Plus, I did get 2nd in my age group!

Mom and me at the finish.

 

It was a great day, and at least it wasn’t rainy like it was last year! This race always has great post-race food so we had a bagel, then headed over to the lunch tent where there were a ton of burgers, hot dogs and desserts. Yum!

Afterwards, we did a cooldown mile back home. I was exhausted and ended up taking a 2 hour nap as soon as I got home. Those post-race naps are the best!

My next race is this upcoming weekend. It will be me and my mom’s first NYRR race of the year – a 4 mile run in Central Park to raise money and awareness for lung cancer. My running coach had me doing a 4 mile tempo run this week, so I figured I’d sign up for a race to make it seem easier/give me more motivation.

Less than 1 month until a) the Brooklyn Half Marathon and b) I graduate with my Master’s degree!!!!

What spring races are you doing this year?

Follow Reach Your Peak:

3 Responses to “Miles for Matheny 5K Recap”

  1. seethisgirlrun April 22, 2013 at 9:28 pm #

    Yay for 2nd place! Post race naps really are the best. I wake up totally unable to move my body. haha
    That’s so awesome that you’re getting your Masters! Good work! What is it in?

    • reach-yourpeak April 23, 2013 at 12:03 pm #

      Post race naps = THE BEST. I always pass out within seconds of lying down.

      I’m getting my Master’s in Education, in College Student Affairs. I’d like to work within higher education…we’ll see where life takes me!

Leave a Reply

