I Just Can’t Do Morning Runs

20 Apr

I tried today…ok, so it wasn’t really early morning or anything (10 am). But I just am not cut out for it! I have way less energy in the mornings than in the evenings, and my body just feels stiff and tight. I had to run earlier today because I have a 5K tomorrow. My coach told me to get a run in earlier so I give my legs more time to rest.

My mom and I went for an easy 2 mile shakeout run. Except it didn’t feel too easy since I felt stiff but whatever! At least it’s spring now, and warm…and pretty trees are blooming!

I got back and did a good stretch and tennis ball rolling session. My hips have been really tight, same with my IT band. I was also really excited to try out my new protein powder!

Totally clean ingredients. A little more pricey but worth the investment in my opinion. So, post-run I decided to make a spinach, banana and protein smoothie! I never, ever get vanilla protein powder (I hate vanilla…so bland!) but I figured the flavor would go more with green smoothies. It tastes a little different, but any new protein powder you try will take getting used to, since you’re accustomed to your old powder. Anyways, my smoothie was delicious! Creamy and tasted great.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup spinach

1/2 banana

1 scoop Vega vanilla performance protein powder

Filled half the blending cup with water

*blended in a Magic Bullet, but increase ingredients if you use a bigger blender.

I am really hoping for a PR tomorrow in my 5K…but we will see! It’s a hilly course but that’s where I got my record last year.

Lastly, I leave you with what I found at Target yesterday. Aren’t these the perfect summer sandals?? Can totally be dressed up or down. Love them!

Are you running a spring 5K? Where?

Follow Reach Your Peak:

2 Responses to “I Just Can’t Do Morning Runs”

  1. Ani Danelz April 20, 2013 at 4:17 pm #

    I am the complete opposite! For me, there is nothing better than getting out on the road at 8am and finishing a long run. I hate when I have to wait until classes are over and I go for a run at like 5pm. At that point, I just want to go home and relax.

    • reach-yourpeak April 20, 2013 at 4:19 pm #

      We are indeed total opposites! Haha ijust have no energy at that time. I really wish I was a morning person. But I have way more energy in the evenings so I just don’t think I can ever convert to morning runs!

Leave a Reply

