Would You Rather – Runner Style

18 Apr

I saw this survey on a new blog I’m following, Olive To Run, and thought it looked like a fun little thing to fill out!

Here are the questions:

1. Would you rather run a 5k or a marathon?
2. Would you rather run in the heat of summer or the icy winter?
3. Would you rather have new running shoes or a new running outfit?
4. Would you rather run alone or in a group?
5. Would you rather run next to someone in a race who tries to talk to you constantly or someone who breathes heavy and grunts?
6. Would you rather run a race because of the convenience (location, price, travel) or the swag?
7. Would you rather run a race with a group of friends or by yourself?
8. Would you rather run a PR but result in an injury or finish strong and missing a PR?
9. Would you rather eat a big meal the night before or a big meal after a race?
10. Would you rather be chased by a swarm of bees or a pack of dogs?

And here are my answers!

1. Would you rather run a 5k or a marathon?

5K. I love the marathon, but you can do 5K more often, and to me 5K is all about pushing yourself and being competitive with yourself. I am always trying to improve my 5K time and PR!
2. Would you rather run in the heat of summer or the icy winter?

While I did get used to running in the cold this winter, I think I would have to say heat of the summer. I love sweating it out in the summertime.

This was cool and all…but I love summer.

3. Would you rather have new running shoes or a new running outfit?

Running shoes because they are more pricey! I always by my workout gear discounted…I shop the sales at department stores, Modell’s, etc…and sometimes you find good stuff at TJ Maxx! But I never skimp on good running shoes.
4. Would you rather run alone or in a group?

Depends on my mood. I do most of my runs with my mom which really motivates me, but sometimes I love just going on a run alone and listening to music.

Mom and I after our first half-marathon. I can’t imagine running races alone!

5. Would you rather run next to someone in a race who tries to talk to you constantly or someone who breathes heavy and grunts?

Someone who breathes heavy. I hate when people try to talk to my while I am running! My mom always does it in races or in hard workouts and I’m like I CAN’T TALK RIGHT NOW.
6. Would you rather run a race because of the convenience (location, price, travel) or the swag?

Hmmmm….this is a tough one. If it’s a long distance race, I really want swag…like a cool medal. But I don’t think I’d run a race only for that. I think I chose races based on price and travel time.
7. Would you rather run a race with a group of friends or by yourself?

Probably by myself because if I was in a group I’d feel like we needed to run together, or we’d be talking and during races I’m competitive and just want to do my own thing! Though I’ve only run a race with a friend once, so I don’t really know. I had fun that time and it was great having someone push me!

Before the Big Chill 5K in December

8. Would you rather run a PR but result in an injury or finish strong and missing a PR?

Finish strong for sure. I have shin splint issues so I know injuries suck. I’d never want to deal with that despite having a PR!
9. Would you rather eat a big meal the night before or a big meal after a race?

After. If you eat a huge meal the night before it might affect your race. You might be all stuffed and in a food-coma, and it could just be bad news race day. I’d rather treat myself after a race. Though I thought I would do that after NYC Marathon but I had ZERO appetite. Went home, had a small bowl of cereal and passed out 😛
10. Would you rather be chased by a swarm of bees or a pack of dogs?

This is tough. Bees would hurt…and if you’re not near a body of water that would suck. Dogs…hmm…I think I’d chose dogs, because at least worst comes to worst you can climb up a tree!

What would your answers be to these questions? If you fill it out, comment with a link!

Follow Reach Your Peak:

Leave a Reply

