11 Mile Run Recap

16 Apr

After being glued to the TV all afternoon yesterday, I needed to go out and complete my 11 mile run with my mom. I ran with a heavy heart, and my mom and I talked a lot about what happened and how we couldn’t believe it. As I ran, I just thought of those runners who were at the marathon, so excited to be running Boston…or if it was their first, excited and nervous…and how now that memory is marred. I just feel so sad…

But anyway, I was glad I was actually able to finish my 11 miles after 2 weeks of not being able to do a long run due to my calves burning (wtf??). We did a large 6 mile loop that ended back at my house, and I stopped for a few minutes there to change my shoes. Then we did another 5 miles at our local park. I love running there, it is so scenic!

We finished in 1:55, so average pace about 10:27 per mile. We also did 2 miles in the middle at goal half marathon pace, around 9:15 per mile. Those were TOUGH! But I pushed through it, and envisioned the elite women at the marathon I had been watching earlier for inspiration. Then we finished with 3 miles at normal pace. I felt great! Though today my left knee/side of knee/IT band is super tight and hurting, and I can’t bend my knee when I walk, but other than that I felt good =)

I have my half marathon training class today and was planning on just walking or doing an easy 3, but I forgot my sneakers and my knee is hurting anyway, so I won’t be running.

So happy I got my 11 miles in! 12 miles up for next week.

Are you running today??

Follow Reach Your Peak:

3 Responses to “11 Mile Run Recap”

  1. Jim Hartman April 16, 2013 at 11:57 am #

    I don’t want to comment too much on yesterday’s events because quite frankly I am so tired from seeing the same footage and pictures over and over. It is truely exhausting and I feel so guilty for feeling this way. All those poor people. My thoughts and feelings echo yours Patty.
    Congrats on your run ! I am runnng the Brooklyn half in May but my training plan (the free one from Runners World) doesn’t have me doing long runs (longest is 6 mi.) so I hope that is Ok. I did my first track workout the other day and it was great. I will email you the results to see what you think. I am supposed to run 3 miles today but don’t know if I will. I just don’t feel like it.
    I love the pic from the park where you ran ! So beautiful !

    • reach-yourpeak April 16, 2013 at 11:59 am #

      Agreed on the media…their coverage is always excessive no matter what. Being from Rutgers, I totally understand that viewpoint and it IS exhausting.
      Sure, email me your results! I am really excited for the brooklyn half but nervous it will be really hot, and nervous for the hills in prospect park! Hoping to PR but trying not to get my hopes up lol

  2. trueindigo April 16, 2013 at 12:01 pm #

    Today was my day off but ran a mile in silence. Thanks for your thoughtful post.

Leave a Reply

