Whole30 Recap

1 Apr

So I finished Whole30! I apologize for not posting my meals last week…it was a busy week and I forgot to write them down for myself to post. Basically, it was all the same as Week 1, Week 2 and Week 3 for the most part. I’m a creature of habit I guess 🙂 One thing I did make for dinner last week was my buffalo chicken meatloaf…I forgot how quick and easy it is to make!

Anyways, Whole30 started with the book It Starts With Food. I had heard about it before, but when a friend suggested I join her in doing it, I decided to read the book and dive in. (PS – This post may be on the longer side!)

Overall, I would highly suggest this “diet” but I would say read the book first so you fully understand it. It’s not really a diet, nor should you think of it as not being able to eat anything, because in reality you can eat as much as you want, just of healthy, whole foods.

I found that I did, in fact, have a lot more energy, which was stable throughout the day. My workouts and runs did not suffer, which I was afraid of, especially since I’m in the midst of half marathon training. While I cannot say that I lost weight or bodyfat (more on that in a second), my mom (who did whole30 with me) lost 5 lbs and an inch or two around her belly. She also experienced the other positive side effects I did, as well as others.

I was disappointed that I did not lose any bodyfat. For two years now, my bodyfat percentage has stayed the same, despite lifting, running, and eating clean. I couldn’t believe 30 days of no cheats whatsoever yielded no results for me, and it was the last straw. A few people, along with my old personal trainer boss, told me I should go see an endocrinologist, which I am doing in the coming weeks. Hopefully I have an answer as to why my body holds on to fat! Some may say I don’t need to lose fat/weight, but the truth is my bodyfat percentage is rather high for my height, weight, and activity level. It’s actually close to an unhealthy range. I started Whole30 in hopes of lowering it a little, but it is clear that something else is going on.

However, I highly recommend this to others! This is an amazing way to set a goal of eating whole, non processed foods. You may think 30 days is hard, but honestly, once you start your streak, you do not want to break it. It’s also much easier than you think to eat a bunch of protein and veggies…it’s just all about finding the veggies you like.

Again, I suggest reading the book! You will learn so much about hormones and the roles they play in your body…and how your food choices affect them. I am much more aware of what I am putting into my body now. But I’ll admit, the day after I finished, I had to splurge a little…

Something sweet was calling my name! This is a nutella banana crepe 🙂

OH and a word about reintroduction…the first day I reintroduced grains and they definitely had an effect on me. Within the hour I felt lethargic, and SO tired. I got home and immediately passed out for a nap. I couldn’t believe it!

This weekend was a little bit of a splurge weekend, since I finished Whole30 and it was Easter…but my mom and I are starting back up tomorrow! It probably won’t be as strict because I know I will be going out for a friend’s birthday this weekend, but I’m excited to get back to foods that make me feel good =)

Have you tried Whole30? Do you think you will? Please let me know if you have any questions at all!

 

Follow Reach Your Peak:

5 Responses to “Whole30 Recap”

  1. Tricia April 1, 2013 at 7:18 pm #

    Patty this looks awesome! I’m definitely looking to try this. I’ve felt worlds better since I stopped eating gluten last year, so I’ve been curious about paleo but I’m scared to let go of my ice cream habit :/

    • reach-yourpeak April 1, 2013 at 7:47 pm #

      lol I was terrified of giving up sweets because I didn’t know if I could commit but it was great! I actually lost the cravings after week 1…and also didn’t want to break that streak haha

  2. Andrea @Pencils and Pancakes April 1, 2013 at 7:40 pm #

    I also didn’t lose weight…I gained weight! But i felt that it definitely controlled my hunger, upped my energy and somewhat limited my carb and sugar cravings.

    • reach-yourpeak April 1, 2013 at 7:48 pm #

      exactly! I had those effects too. Not sure about the weight thing but hopefully the doctor gives me answers. no matter what I do I don’t lose any body fat and to me that doesn’t seem right!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tips For A Successful Whole30 | - April 4, 2013

    […] this week, I posted about my Whole30 experience and what I thought of it. I loved it! And I’ve definitely felt the effects (my mom too) of […]

Leave a Reply

