Are You Faster Than a Ridge Runner 5K

26 Mar

This past Sunday I ran my first 5K of the season! I wasn’t expecting anything huge from this race…I was using it more as a a fitness test. While I obviously WANTED a 5K PR, I knew it was unrealistically…but that doesn’t mean I didn’t try. Despite that, I finished in 27:55.

It was tough. Not gonna lie. So my average pace ended up being 9 min. per mile. That’s around my goal pace for the half marathon so it was a bit discouraging that that pace was so hard for only 5K! My legs felt fine, no shin pain really…but my breathing was just off. My lungs just didn’t feel like they could handle it. My first mile was in 8:30 and then it all dropped from there.

IMG_7545

But it’s ok! It’s a starting point for my goal 5K race on April 21, and my half marathon on April 27. I’d love to break my 5K PR of 25:42 in April, and break my half marathon PR of 2:07. We’ll see!

Anyway, my mom and I placed 3rd in our age group at the 5K. She did awesome! She came in front of me in 26:39. It’s one of her fastest times yet. She’s trying to beat her PR of 26:10. So we both got some medals out of it!

And they ran out of race shirts since we registered that day, so we got this awesome shirt instead (that was for the high school kids who sponsored the race):

I love memes 🙂

Did you run a race this weekend? How did you do?

2 Responses to “Are You Faster Than a Ridge Runner 5K”

  1. jsresults March 27, 2013 at 7:37 am #

    Awesome job on the 5k! 3rd in your age group is awesome! And what video is that t-shirt from!? I see that photo everywhere

    • reach-yourpeak March 27, 2013 at 10:40 pm #

      Lol it’s a meme and the guy is from Lord of the rings I believe!

Leave a Reply

