Asics Gel Kayano 19 Review

21 Mar

About a month ago, I won a pair of Asics Gel Kayano shoes by tweeting my #runmotivation to Sara Hall. I always enter these types of Twitter contests but never expect to actually win! Since I won them, and have never tried Asics before, I figured I’d write up a little review for you all.

I honestly wasn’t sure if I would end up keeping the shoes. I had a loyalty to Mizunos and was nervous about trying a new brand, especially because of my shin issues. I wore them on a short treadmill run and thought, “hmmm, my shins dont hurt…and I didn’t even need to put in my arch support inserts.” I figured it was a fluke.

I wore them for a few more runs and have to say, I love them! I’m sorry to my Mizunos…but I may have to switch over to Asics!

These shoes are labeled “structured cushioning” on the Asics website, and are for people with flat feet (me!) to medium arches. I am really shocked that I can run in these without my arch inserts. Plus, I don’t really get shin pain after runs! I have yet to try them on a long run, but next Tuesday is 10 miles, so we’ll see how that goes.

So far, I am loving these shoes, and if runs keep going this well, then I think I’ll be switching my allegiance!

Do you have a sneaker brand allegiance? To who and why?

Leave a Reply

